h1

Icy Winter

February 18, 2014

We cleared snow three times last week and are expecting more today and then again on Friday. In between, it has been cold and windy.

Winter in New England is not easing up, and I’m reminded of that when I look out and see this monster icicle that according to my calculations is about 5 1/2 feet long.

Besides doing some morning farm chores and a few errands, I’ve been staying inside not far from the pellet stove. I’m working on a quilting project and hope to be done in a week or so.

I have a Master Gardener meeting today right in the middle of the snowstorm. The agenda includes project updates and plans for the annual plant sale. Seems kind of tongue in cheek considering the weather, but spring will arrive and it can’t come soon enough for me.

I’m sincerely hoping you’re warmer where you are, there is less ice in your life, and you have a terrific week. :-)

20 comments

  1. Wow, it looks exactly like what we have here in Michigan. My driveway is solid ice beneath last night’s snow. I have a 3 foot icicle hanging from a dormer I can’t reach. But there is light at the end of the tunnel: we’re supposed to get up to 37F today. Yeah!!!

    Like


  2. Those pictures are just amazing Judy. It is really frightening how cold and icy it has been for so many people! Stay near that stove and stay warm and safe.

    Like


  3. I wish I could be fascinated by these pictures, but since I only need to look out the window to see the exact same thing, I’m really not! I just hope this year is an anomaly and not the start of a trend! Remember two winters ago? Seventy degree days in January? Wish THAT would be a trend!

    Like


    • I don’t want to bring up global warming here, BUT I’m thinking Mother Nature is not happy with all the stuff we’re spraying and all the emissions. Just a guess, but…

      Like


  4. Now those are some amazing icicles!!! And clearly you could build a full Igloo from that snow pile. I have read that it is warmer in Alaska this year than down here : )

    Like


    • I’ve never had any desire to visit Alaska because of the cold, and here we are this year living like Eskomos.

      Like


  5. Serious ice your way. Warm wishes!

    Like


  6. Melt some of that and send it our way! I’m sorry for your VERY long and icy cold winter! Spring will be that much more welcome for you this year.

    Like


    • I think of you every time I lift that shovel and can hardly get it over the top of the snow bank. I know life isn’t fair but I wish the weather was so we could share with you. :-)

      Like


  7. this is surely a harsh winter! My sons have taken it in stride (as all of us up there do..it’s what makes us strong!) and said “We’ve got a pretty good (snow removal) routine down now!” i smiled to myself when i heard it and thought “yup! hardy New Englanders!”
    Hope you had a fun MG meeting! (mine was yesterday, too, but i missed it due to annual dr. appt! hate when that happens!)

    Like


  8. My dad, who lives in North Arkansas called on Valentine’s day. He said, “I don’t know how you do it up there…We’ve had snow on the ground all winter, and I’m sick of it!”
    We just deal with it, right?
    The horizon was still pink at 6 pm last night…a sign we’re moving in the right direction!

    Like


    • The calendar says 31 days until spring. Here’s hoping we get our New England delivery right on time. :-)

      Like


  9. We arrived home in the snowstorm last night. I can’t believe the snow we have had in the two weeks I was gone. We all have to think green thoughts. :)

    Like


    • You are so right – I’m even thinking about how I’ll enjoy seeing some nice green weeds. :-)

      Like


      • You are right…the sight of weeds wouldn’t be so bad right now and we wouldn’t get hot pulling them. :)

        Like


  10. I hate to say this, but we’ve been in the 70s for several days now. This winter has given you some lovely pictures, but I know you are ready to be done!

    Like


  11. Hi,
    Today is thursday and were suppose to get rain so that all the snow would melt but unfortunately for us getting lots and lots of snow at 3 pm. Look we can predict that the weather will be according to the for cast. Sorry have to accept the nature.
    almas

    Like


  12. We had tons of ice at the beginning of the week, so when I drove downstate for work the highway was quite hazardous. Then it really warmed up and we had rain. On my drive back today, the roads were covered with fog.

    Like


  13. I’m not quite done with winter and appreciate the inside time to finish up some cold weather knitting projects of my own!

    Like



Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 475 other followers

