h1

August in New England

August 11, 2014

All the gardens are thriving. The cottage perennials, the hosta and other shade plants, and our veggies are all doing well. We still have a lot of flowers to cut and fresh vegetables for the table.

FlowerCollage

Yesterday we took a break from gardening and headed north to visit our good friends up in Alexandria, NH. We were lucky to be invited to lunch. And, when they say come for lunch, they really mean it. We enjoyed salad from their garden, and fresh lobster, fried bay scallops and fresh sweet corn picked that morning at their family farm. To say it was delicious doesn’t quite do it justice. And, mid afternoon we had chocolate zucchini cake with vanilla frosting. What a food fest. :-)

LobsterPicMonkey

But, on the way out-of-town we had to stop and stare at some leaves that were turning. Say it isn’t so! I’m really not ready for leaves to start turning. I’m still enjoying the sun and heat of summer.

Tree Collage

Here’s hoping we get a late fall so we can enjoy¬†lots of more fresh veggies and color in the garden. :-) Have a terrific week.

12 comments

  1. I join you in hoping for a long Indian summer ahead. We deserve it after last winter!
    My only chance at NE lobster was several times in Boston. Huge difference between that and the frozen stuff that passes for it here in the midwest.
    Your gardens are lovely, but yes, there is a tinge of sadness when you’re observing them in August.

    Like


  2. Had a wonderful day. That tree by the cemetery always changes color in August. It has ever since I can remember!!!!!

    Like


  3. What a feast you enjoyed while visiting your friends. I know what you mean about the leaves. I just noticed over the weekend that our Japanese Maple is starting to turn. I don’t mind the thought of fall but I’m like you and am enjoying the warmth right now and want it to last a little longer.

    Like


  4. What a bounty of feast and friends! Your garden looks lovely. Not much you can do about the march of seasons except to enjoy each day. :-)

    Like


  5. Leaves turning already?? Oh, no! I agree. We need a late fall (even though it’s my favorite time of year)!

    Like


  6. That lobster looks to-die-for! I always loved when the hostas sent up flowers. You can def tell the difference between hostas grown up north and those down here…yours are so much lusher and far deeper green. So nice!! :)

    Like


  7. You had me at fried bay scallops!! Nom-nom!
    I’m don’t think I’m in denial about the changing of the leaves in your photo… However, this maple looks like it has seen better days. I’m going to go with stress and not fall color… not yet!!! =-)

    Like


  8. Here’s to a late fall.

    Like


  9. Oh my..what a feast! Yum! And your garden is beautiful!

    Like


  10. Your garden looks wonderful but that lunch — oh my! So where is our piece of chocolate zucchini cake? I heard a blogger from Vermont mention the leaves have started to turn and No One is happy about it. Hope it is a nice long fall!

    Like


  11. Judy your flower beds look phenomenal ! And now that is what I call a lunch! Why didn’t you stay overnight, lol ….

    Like


  12. I have corn envy.

    Like



Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 482 other followers

