h1

Phlox

August 18, 2014

Phlox have been around for a long time and there are many cultivars. They were prominent in gardens in the first half of the 1900’s and fell out of favor in the second half of the century. Recently they have resurfaced as a garden favorite.

Love them or leave them? I love them because my grandmother grew them in her farm-house garden, and I remember picking bouquets for her kitchen when I was a child. The minute I look out and see them or smell them, I smile just thinking of her.

Phlox Garden Collage

Phlox Collage

Although I have beautiful blooms every year, I also have powdery mildew on the leaves.  It makes it a little difficult to bring them inside unless you strip all the leaves off and fill in with some other greenery which is what I usually do.

MildewCollage

Powdery mildew comes from dampness, high humidity, lack of air circulation and growing non-resistant varieties in the shade. Well…guilty on a couple of counts – air circulation, partial shade and non-resistant varieties.

There are sprays you can purchase or you can make a DIY version of water, baking soda and horticultural oil. I may have to give that a try next year.

For the rest of this growing season, I’ll just look, smell, remember, and smile.

Here’s hoping you are enjoying your garden because dare I say – that ‘next’ season is heading our way. :-)

 

12 comments

  1. Yes, I love it. I didn’t realize that’s what we’d transplanted into our backyard though. No one knew the name.

    Like


  2. I think it is beautiful and I love all of your different colors and varieties.

    Like


  3. Judy, all your garden views look lovely. Phlox are so nice and long-lasting it’s hard to understand why they would lose favor for a while. Mine also have powdery mildew–seems worse than usual this year, but the humidity has been bad here.

    Like


  4. I do love phlox….such vibrant colours. We have some we use as ground cover :-)

    Like


  5. Noooo! Summer isn’t over yet! 😂
    I love phlox. Smells so pretty. Powdery mildew is an issue, however the spray should help.

    Like


  6. Easy to see why such flowers make you smile… better yet that they’re associated with your grandmother. Truly lovely.

    Like


  7. I have never been sure about phlox but just recently both Jude and I are finding a few we like and now have some in our garden. We are appreciating their scent in particularly. I love the one bottom right in first batch of photos.

    Like


  8. I like them very much but I don’t grow them. Yours are lovely.

    Like


  9. I love them for the scent though I only have one or two and they did not bloom for long. NEXT year I am going to go dig up the spring variety that grows by the roadside…that is the sort that I’d picked for Scott’s wedding and while I was out there picking I remember thinking that I wish that I’d brought a shovel too ( though how silly / it was the wedding day…as if I’d have had time for that too, lol! :)

    Like


  10. Definitely love them and need to find some more room in my garden so I can plant some…. :)

    Like


  11. I love phlox too, mostly because of an elementary school memory. In a classroom boys-against-girls trivia competition, the question was “Phlox: animal, plant or mineral?” Everyone else looked puzzled. For some reason I knew the answer and wildly waved my hand to defeat the boys with a smug smirk of victory!
    And grandma’s backyard was resplendent in these. I love them for that reason too!

    Like



Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 475 other followers

