Gardening for Wildlife

Gardening is a wonderful hobby if you enjoy watching fruits, vegetables and flowers grow and produce delectable foods or beautiful flowers.

Enjoying nature including a variety of birds, pollinators, bugs (good and bad), and other small animals that venture into the yard is a wonderful part of gardening.

A couple of years ago, my grandchildren and I decided to apply for Certification with the National Wildlife Federation. Certification requires that your yard provides food, water, cover and places for wildlife to raise their families.

We made our own bee block to attract native pollinators to our yard as well as a bat house.

Food can include having native plants, fruits, nuts, berries, and nectar or feeders to supplement these requirements.

Water gardens, streams, ponds, or bird baths can meet the needs for accessible, clean drinking water.

Birdhouses, thickets or rock piles can provide cover for animals.

Places for wildlife to raise their young can include host plants, nesting boxes, vegetation, dense shrubs, or ponds.
.
Our property borders wetlands on two sides. We leave downed trees in place so small animals can find homes. We also leave plants in the fall garden that have berries, pods, or nuts available for winter snacking.

We work hard to attract wildlife with a large variety of native annual and perennial plants, bushes and shrubs. Our gardens include bird baths, butterfly houses, bird houses, bee block, bat house, hummingbird feeder, and we continue to add new things each gardening season.

My grandchildren love gardening, enjoyed the certification process, and are very proud of their sign in the yard. If you garden with your grandkids and are looking for a learning project, give National Wildlife Certification a try.

Classic Certified Wildlife Habitat Sign

This post has been linked to the Grand Social blogging event.

About Judy @ NewEnglandGardenAndThread

Master Gardener who enjoys gardening, quilting, photography, and traveling.
This entry was posted in Family, Gardening and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Gardening for Wildlife

  1. Congratulations! We have similar ideas to yours. I am partway through writing a blog about the wildlife aspects of our garden.

    Like

    • Judy says:

      Thank you. I’ll look forward to your post. As soon as the weather warms a little, I want to build two insect hotels with my grandkids. Have a good day.

      Like

  2. Connie says:

    Love your blog! Thanks for linking up with Family Home and Life on Say It Saurday.

    Like

  3. Debra Pugh says:

    what a great article…wish I was out in the country more and could do that…..since I have dogs running in my small fenced backyard I can’t do too much though we do have squirrels in our neighborhood and I have several birds nests going on at the moment. I miss feeding the birds like I used to do at my old place where there was more room.
    One year we had such a bad winter that the little chickadees were practically tame and I got one to come to my hand for suet! 🙂

    Like

  4. Grandma Kc says:

    How very cool! Not something we could do in our little backyard in southern California so it is fun to live vicariously through others!

    Like

  5. Connie says:

    We had a neighbor on our street who had that certification. Then they moved and the new owner cut down the trees and got rid of most of the vegetation. It was sad to see and I kept wondering what happened to all the wild life that use to live there.

    Like

  6. Rosemary says:

    I had a great time with my grandchildren identifying wild flowers along the banks of the Oxford canal in the UK. So great to educate children about nature. Keep encouraging it!

    Like

  7. Joyce says:

    I love the respect you have for nature and how you share it with the next generation! My next door neighbor is a “master gardener” and has that certification. I recognized it right away. I will ask her about it! The woods in back of our house are home to many small animals and deer. I would like to learn more about making it even more hospitable, like the berry plants you nurture for snacking in winter. I am going to look at the library for info! Love your blog! Thank you!

    Like

  8. Pingback: Berries, Berries, Berries « grandparentsplus2

Leave a Reply

