Wordless Wednesday – 4th of July

About Judy @ NewEnglandGardenAndThread

Master Gardener who enjoys gardening, quilting, photography, and traveling.
This entry was posted in Family and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Wordless Wednesday – 4th of July

  1. Susan Adcox says:

    I don’t have any idea what the significance of each of these is–that’s the drawback of Wordless Wednesday! They make a nice display, though. Happy Fourth!

    Like

    • Judy says:

      I lost two uncles in WWII, and these are part of the medals they received and I had framed. When my grandparents passed away, all family keepsakes were given to me to pass down. My uncles are never forgotten but come to the forefront on holidays such as Memorial Day and 4th of July. Happy holiday to you too.

      Like

  2. Joyce says:

    I am very touched by this because my dad also received a Purple Heart in WW II. When mother died 4 years ago, I frantically searched the house (it was kind of a mess!) for it. When I located it I felt as though I had everything I ever needed to remember him with. There was also a German medal that he had found and brought home. I discovered that it was a common “Mother’s medal” but I don’t recall any more details. I have since come to replace my initial aversion to that medal by recognizing that it belonged to a young man who was also loved as a son, a brother, or a husband. Unlike my father, he probably did not make it home. I hate war.

    Like

    • Judy says:

      Today, the word hero is tossed around and used to describe sports figures and animated movie characters. To me when I look at that Purple Heart I see the real definition of a hero – someone who made a sacrifice (ultimate or otherwise) so we could enjoy freedom to make choices. Thank you to your Dad for his service, and may our children and grandchildren treasure these medals when we are gone.

      Like

Leave a Reply

