DIY and Grandkids

What a fun combination – a DIY project and two grandkids.

This spring we bought a table for $3 at the local Habitat for Humanity Restore that was perfect to put near our chicken coop.

It was a nice solid metal table but had a wooden top that had seen better days. Once we started using it outside, the top really curled and we had to replace it.

My husband replaced the top with a new wooden one, and I put a coat of  exterior paint matching the chicken coop on it. It looked pretty good that way and would have served us well.

But on the way to the coop with the table, I thought about the pots I had been keeping for a mosaic table top project. This called for a detour.

The grandkids and I headed to the barn and picked up a few tiles – slate pieces from the floor of their farmhouse and ceramic tiles their mom had taken off their kitchen wall during a renovation project. These would be perfect for the table border.

Then we were off to the garage to find some pretty Christmas ceramic pots I’d saved.

I mixed and spread thin set on the top of the table to provide a bed to secure all the tiles.

Now, the fun part. I spread a large piece of plastic on the floor of the garage. With hats on head, safely glasses securely on, and hammers in hand, both kids went to work on the pots. My granddaughter tried to save pieces of the flowers, but my grandson just loved whacking away and watching the pieces fly.

Once we had plenty of pieces, we started putting the center of the table together. My granddaughter thought it was fun to find and put the right pieces together to make flowers. It was like doing a ceramic puzzle.

After letting it sit for several days, I grouted it with non-sand grout, and let that dry for a couple of days. Finally, I sprayed it with several coats of a grout sealer.

This winter when we settle in for five to six months of cold, snowy New England weather, I may secure a protective piece of plastic over the top.

Finished table top

After lots of hammering and laughing, we have a finished product that serves a practical purpose here on the farm. I think the chickens appreciate our effort to keep them fed and watered, and we certainly appreciate the fresh eggs.

Fresh water and cut-up apple

Grandson (6)Lot of fun breaking the pots with the hammer.

Granddaughter (11) – I loved breaking the pots with a hammer and not getting into trouble.

This post has been linked to the GRAND Social blogging event.

About Judy @ NewEnglandGardenAndThread

Master Gardener who enjoys gardening, quilting, photography, and traveling.
This entry was posted in DIY, Family and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to DIY and Grandkids

  1. That turned out great! And they will always have the memories of creating this fun piece with you!

    Like

  2. Love the mosaic project – especially recycling tiles and pots. Best part is allowing the young artists to use their creativity and hammers! Inspires me to get back to my own love of mosaic work. Thanks for a great post.
    Debbie Richards

    Like

  3. Joyce says:

    I love seeing kids experience new art media at home. You had everything you needed right at hand, including a creative imagination!

    Like

  4. Sounds a fun time for all and a brilliant result.

    Like

  5. Grandma Kc says:

    It is wonderful and even better because the kids could help! Love your granddaughters response! We have a similar coffee table that a friend did for us years ago. He replaced the glass insets that NEVER stayed clean with broken tile. It is beautiful but it weighs a TON. I get my exercise moving it to vacuum!

    Like

  6. Debra Pugh says:

    It looks great. LOL I started laughing because I can JUST IMAGINE how your grandson would love hammering and smashing away / that would be boy-heaven, wouldn’t it ? 🙂

    Like

  7. Connie says:

    Really a great project. I love that you recycled materials and made some special and new but with old memories attached to the slate and tiles. Thanks for linking up at Say It Saturday 🙂

    Like

  8. gramsmadeit says:

    It’s beautiful. What a fun project to do with the grands.

    Like

  9. Debbie says:

    It turned out so beautiful!! Love the mosaic…great job!!
    Debbie 🙂

    Like

  10. Love it! I love mosaic anything. Beautiful.

    Like

  11. I love this project. What a fun thing to do with the grandkids. I can’t wait til my grandsons are old enough to do such things. My oldest one probably could be now, but the youngest would surely eat the pieces. Beautiful job!

    Like

  12. Pingback: DIY – Ironing Board | grandparentsplus2

Leave a Reply

