Painting and Friendship

I love to paint – craft projects, walls, fences, houses, whatever – I enjoy it. After a professional career in Corporate America, I find painting relaxing. It provides a beginning, a middle, and an end. When you are done, you step back and feel a sense of satisfaction in a job well done.

Painting with my granddaughter is the most fun of all. And, we are so lucky to have a talented friend who can do just about any craft out there in addition to being a wonderful painter. Because she teaches crafts and painting in a variety of settings, she is a busy lady.

So, my granddaughter and I love it when she has time for us to have a painting class. The other day we went to visit her and had a good time as usual. We paint. We laugh. We talk. We catch up on family news. We laugh. We paint some more. It makes for a great morning.

At each lesson, we do a different project. This time we painted a funky chicken on a slate tile. We had leftover slate tiles from the farm-house kitchen so we took some with us. She provided the example, supplies and thankfully her expertise.

Life really is good when you can spend a morning with a special friend, enjoy your granddaughter’s company, learn to paint something new, and laugh out loud while doing it.

We’re already planning our next painting project – sheep. We’re going to do a primitive painting project that will include some sheep. And, without a doubt, another good time will be had by all. Can’t wait!

Granddaughter (11) comments:  Love going to see her. She is always so nice to me.

About Judy @ NewEnglandGardenAndThread

Master Gardener who enjoys gardening, quilting, photography, and traveling.
This entry was posted in Family and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Painting and Friendship

  1. Susan Adcox says:

    When I paint or do other art with my grandchildren, I’m always surprised by the beauty of their products. They may not do it “right.” They may put the paint on too thick or choose colors that I would never choose, but their lack of preconceived notions frees them to create unconventional and visceral art. (Love the roosters!)

    Like

  2. That is Super cute! Can’t wait to see the sheep painting. I just painted with my daughter this week and she was so good at having fun and being relaxed with it. Something I have lost.

    Like

  3. Debra Pugh says:

    These are so cute and colorful! Must have been alot of fun creating them! 🙂

    Like

  4. Grandma Kc says:

    I love the relationship you have with your granddaughter and I love reading about the things you do together, both of you learning and sometimes from one another. You are both very lucky to have one another.

    Like

  5. Joyce says:

    The folk art roosters are great! I love the colors and the strong design. Painting is so good for kids for so many reasons, but I think you have shown us that the “just being with grandma” reason is probably the best one of them all!
    Yes! We want to see the sheep too!

    Like

  6. I hope you did a little dancing the “funky chicken” while painting funky chickens. 😀 What a blessing to have a gifted friend who can give lessons and laughs. Memorable times for one and all, for sure.

    Like

Leave a Reply

