Facebook

How do you feel about Facebook? Are you an avid fan sleeping with your electronic device of choice on your nightstand? Are you a ‘friend’ to all and ‘like’ everything? Or do you not believe in the social networking frenzy?

Regardless of where you stand, it is apparent that Facebook and other social networking sites are here to stay and are part of our global society.

But, have you ever wondered what, if anything, Facebook adds to our lives? Does anyone really have hundreds and thousands of “friends”? Do the people on Facebook really need to know your every move and more importantly do they really care? Is everyone’s life really as great as their photo albums?

I know this may show my mature age, but I think:

…Facebook is wonderful for families and friends that are separated by miles and use it to post pictures and updates so they can stay in touch.

…Facebook is good for research, keeping up to date on products, and promoting businesses.

…Facebook works well for looking up old friends or finding former classmates for a reunion.

…Facebook should not be where you find out loved ones have died.

Last week, I checked my personal Facebook page only to see posts on my wall from the daughter and granddaughter of a close friend. My friend’s husband had died.

I just sat there staring at the laptop, a flood of memories going through my mind, and a million questions I wanted answers to.

Is this what we have come to – a death in a family is broadcast to the Facebook community first? I find this sad, but the answer is apparently ‘yes.’

A few hours later, my friend and I connected by phone, talking about her loss and the grieving process, while sharing warm memories. We’ll continue to stay in touch because we care about each other.

But, I won’t post a summary of our conversation on Facebook, Tweet about it or write a post about it because she’s a friend, and our relationship is real.

I readily acknowledge Facebook has its place in this global society we live in, but I wish we could add some common sense to the directions on how to use it.

About Judy @ NewEnglandGardenAndThread

Master Gardener who enjoys gardening, quilting, photography, and traveling.
This entry was posted in Family and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Facebook

  1. A Table in the Sun says:

    I’m in a group of friends who split the deck between retired and working. None of us were much interested in Facebook until one of our own was struck with cancer. We provided him with a notebook computer so that he could keep in touch through out of town treatments. Although he is now gone, the rest of us are more in touch than ever through Facebook.

    Like

    • Judy says:

      I’m sorry to hear of your loss of a good friend. What a generous and caring gesture to provide a notebook that allowed him to stay in touch. I’m sure he appreciated the gift of instant communication more than he could express. Lasting friendships are hard to find.

      Like

  2. I find that I am less stressed and annoyed if I forget about it… I stopped having it as my homepage. But now that you have mentioned Facebook I want to go check it. 🙂
    I agree that finding out about a loss on facebook is terrible…nothing more to say about that.

    Like

  3. That’s is not a nice way to hear bad news. I’m not a very active Facebook user – by that I mean I don’t update my status very often. I check it daily though, mainly because I have two sisters overseas (one in Australia and one in England) as well as a niece, nephew and a couple of close friends also live far way. They often post lovely pics of what they have been up to. I don’t have loads of friends and it doesn’t worry me that I don’t. The people that count are there. Interesting post Judy.

    Like

Leave a Reply

