Yankee gardening

I’m a Yankee by birth and a Yankee at heart – I was born in New England, and I repurpose, recycle and reuse in preference to buying new.

So, this spring I decided to see if I could keep my expenditures for annuals down to $0. For a person who gardens obsessively that was a daunting challenge, but I do love a challenge.

I had started seeds for Alyssum, Marigolds, Lobelia, and Zinnias. I had also overwintered my Geraniums so I had a good basic start for our many wicker planters and pots.

But, I needed more so I decided to use some of our many perennials. Perennials are work horses, but who said they couldn’t be show horses. I mixed Hosta in some pots, put Chives in front of the hoop house that had vegetables, and used a mix of perennials including Astilbe, several different Coral Bells, Lungwort, and Bishops Weed in other containers. But, I failed to take pictures of those containers.

Hosta planter

Hosta planter

Hosta plantings

Hosta plantings after a couple of weeks in the container

Chive planting

Chive planting

They looked great all through the summer growing season. The pots were full and lush.

Once temperatures started to drop at night, however, they started to fade dramatically. Since I wasn’t going to purchase any Chrysanthemums, I needed to move something into those planters because the perennials were put back into the ground to live to see another gardening season.

There were some big, beautiful Marigolds in the vegetables gardens. Why not dig them up and repot them? If they could look great in the vegetable garden why couldn’t they look as good in the many containers.

Front entry urns

Front entry urns

Entry planter

Entry planter

Porch planter

Porch Planter

Side porch planter

Side porch planter

Planter

Planter

Swing planter

Swing planter

I’m happy with the results and feel quite a sense of satisfaction with saving all the money that normally goes to pay for annuals that I dig up and compost at the end of the growing season.

Will I do it next year? Probably. But I will start more seeds in the early spring and will sink pots of Marigolds that can be just lifted out of the garden.

It was also a good lesson for my grandkids – life is full of choices. Reuse or buy new. I reused and saved some money that I could spend on them – much more fun.

So just for conversational purposes…

About Judy @ NewEnglandGardenAndThread

Master Gardener who enjoys gardening, quilting, photography, and traveling.
This entry was posted in Cottage Perennials, Flower Gardening, Gardening and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Yankee gardening

  1. Donna says:

    They look really nice. You are so clever. Wish I was that talented.

    Like

  2. debra says:

    everything looks nice…LOVE that big planter with the rooster! This year I did save some money by planting zinnia SEEDS and I always do sweet allyssum SEEDS but I do purchase Lantana in baskets …I usually purchase two hanging baskets for the porch of lantana and then after a month or so I put them into the ground and get something else to hang ( as the price comes down later on in the summer on hanging baskets ) But I end up blowing more as the summer goes on…OH MY look at this HIBISCUS and WELL I NEED A PETUNIA and on and on it goes. I will say I spent less this year than I usually do but I am quite sure that I spent at least 50.00 in the end on this and that.

    Like

  3. angloswiss says:

    Reminds me a bit of my garden, although I am in Switzerland. I used to plant a lot myself, but as the years go bye, tend to stay with the plants that come up every year.

    Like

    • Judy says:

      I’m with you – perennials are what I grow and expend my energies on every year. We visited Switzerland in 2008 while on a tour of Italy – gorgeous – I’d love to go back.

      Like

  4. Love your front door and planters! Stunning! I tried to do the same this year with my veggies… didn’t work the greatest and other than a flat of impatients I don’t buy annuals either. But I have moments where I wish I had gone all out and spent the big buck. You are right though, with a little extra planning you can save serious money.

    Like

  5. It is a good reminder to collect seeds and take more cuttings this autumn.

    Like

  6. beautiful! Thank you for sharing at the Thursday Favorite Things hop my friend xo

    Like

  7. I applaud your endeavors. It certainly saves money. I buy few annuals, but do buy perennials. This year I spent around $100 (less than previous years).

    Yael from Home Garden Diggers

    Like

  8. Rosey says:

    Your urns look great!!

    Like

  9. Grandma Kc says:

    Your garden, your home and your yard look so beautiful in all the pictures that you take. One of the advantages of living in southern California is that I don’t have to dig things up at the end of the season. I dig bulbs up to thin them out and I often add a few more but it does make it a lot less expensive. OK, maybe the only thing less expensive about southern California!

    Like

Leave a Reply

