Quilt Show

I went to my first quilt show yesterday. It was sponsored by the Cocheco Quilters Guild, Dover, NH. Their 2012 Quilt Show, Scraps to Treasures, was amazing.

There were so many gorgeous quilts in every size – small, lap, wall, full, queen and every type of craft made with quilted materials, my head was spinning.

I consider myself crafty – I paint, sew, garden, do some cross stitch, and love to create something out of nothing. But, the quilts I saw yesteerday were made by real artists.

The piecing together of fabric for the tops was done with the eye of an artist and the hands of a skilled seamstress. One quilt had over 5,000 pieces with every seam perfectly matched.

Once the quilt tops were finished, some were beautifully hand quilted while others were simply but wonderfully quilted on sewing machines.

But, the majority of the finished quilts were professionally quilted by machine quilting artists who are amazingly skilled in their own field. The beautiful machine quilting patterns on display constituted an art exhibit of its own.

It was a wonderful couple of hours, and I was inspired beyond my wildest dreams.

I hope you enjoy the photos and the small sample of the wide array of beautiful quilts exhibited at the Cocheco Quilters Guild 2012 show.

About Judy @ NewEnglandGardenAndThread

Master Gardener who enjoys gardening, quilting, photography, and traveling.
This entry was posted in Quilting, Sewing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Quilt Show

  1. I hope that you took 50 more pics…can never see enough quilts…they are gorgeous

    Like

  2. Thank you fior sharing your visit to the Quilt show. I love the flag one…and the poppies and the baskets and well….

    Like

  3. JSD says:

    Thanks for sharing…makes me want to get back to my quilting projects. 🙂

    Like

  4. Some people are so talented!!

    Like

  5. Grandma Kc says:

    These pictures are beautiful! Thank you for sharing. My mom makes beautiful quilts, too and I wish I could send her this link but her computer died. I could never do something like this — breathtaking!

    Like

  6. sued51 says:

    Beautiful! I admire quilters so much…I agree with you that they are true artists…and it takes SO Long to make a quilt…it is a huge undertaking! When I was working concerts one of the women collected the backstage passes (which are made out of silk) and made a quilt with them…it was one of the most incredible things I had ever seen!

    Like

  7. gooseyanne says:

    What beautiful work! Thank you for sharing. Unfortunately I don`t have the patience to do this kind of stuff but I love to see it.

    Like

  8. elizabethweaver says:

    These are so gorgeous!!! Some, like the poppies, dementia and horses are not what I think of for quilting…yet these are the ones that make me want to quilt. Thank you for the great post. Thank you too for visiting my blog.

    Like

Leave a Reply

