Weekly Photo Challenge: Geometry

Washington Monument, Washington, DC

In 2009, our entire family, all three generations, spent a wonderful family vacation in Washington, DC.

One of the special sites we visited was the very prominent 555′ 5 1/8″ marble obelisk known as the Washington Monument. Construction of the monument started in 1848, was halted for several years because of the Civil War and shortage of funds, and was completed in 1884.

The Washington Monument honors our nation’s first president and leader of the Continental Army, George Washington.

It is definitely a place that should be on your list of stops if you visit Washington, DC.

About Judy @ NewEnglandGardenAndThread

Master Gardener who enjoys gardening, quilting, photography, and traveling.
This entry was posted in Photography, Weekly Photo Challenge and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Weekly Photo Challenge: Geometry

  1. Cool! – and kudos for taking on a multigenerational trip!! — It was our trip to DC with our oldest grandchild a couple of years ago that prompted me to start my website: travelingwithgrandchildren. We have gone on a number of trips since – and it has always been BIG fun!

    Like

  2. I *will* get there one day! I hope it will be soon. Until then, I love the photos you share of all the great places on my list. Happy weekend to you!

    Like

  3. sued51 says:

    It is still closed, isn’t it? I would like to get there someday myself!

    Like

  4. Grandma Kc says:

    I really *will* get back there again! I love California but other than the missions you don’t see much history. I went to DC for work many years ago and spent an entire day with another girl walking around all of the monuments. It was just amazing and I really do want to go again.

    Like

  5. Susan Adcox says:

    There are so many things to do in DC, but a tour of the Mall memorials is a must-see.

    Like

Leave a Reply

