Poinsettia Trials

This past weekend, the seventh annual Poinsettia Trials Open House was held in conjunction with the Macfarlane Greenhouses, the New Hampshire Agricultural Experiment Station, and the University of New Hampshire Thompson School.

The University of New Hampshire is located in Durham, NH, which is less than a 15 minute drive from home.

Poinsettias came to the United States in 1828 after being discovered in Southern Mexico by the first US Ambassador to Mexico, Dr. Joel Roberts Poinsett.  December 12th is considered National Poinsettia Day in recognition of both the man who brought it to the United States and the plant which is sometimes considered to be a symbol of the Star of Bethlehem. And, contrary to a common myth, poinsettia leaves are not poisonous.

Visitors to the Poinsettia Trials were able to enjoy over 100 Poinsettia varieties and also contribute by recording their favorite plants from the many varieties.

For a Master Gardener affiliated with Cooperative Extension at UNH this opportunity caused my pulse to quicken and the car to start.

The trials area and judging sheet included varieties arranged by color – red, pink, white, novelty and overall favorite. You recorded your first, second, third choices, any that you did not like, and your overall favorites.

Trials are held at various universities and commercial greenhouses across the country with the results providing breeders and growers with information enabling them to evaluate differences in varieties, growing conditions and markets.

Once you were done participating in the trials, you entered the greenhouses where there were hundreds of plants for sale. Beautiful plants, gorgeous plants – enjoy.

About Judy @ NewEnglandGardenAndThread

Master Gardener who enjoys gardening, quilting, photography, and traveling.
This entry was posted in Gardening and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to Poinsettia Trials

  1. It’s amazing what they can do Poinsettias as far as color and leaf form go, I’m sorry I missed it this year

    Like

  2. Grandma Kc says:

    Your pictures are beautiful! We have a neighbor down the street who planted his Christmas plant a few years back and it is now the size of a small tree. He keeps it pinched so it is only as tall as his patio roof. I would have loved to have seen all the different colored ones! Thanks for sharing!

    Like

  3. Silvia says:

    I nominated your Blog for an award
    Check out my Blog to pick up your award

    Like

  4. Seasonsgirl says:

    Wow those are beautiful I didn’t know there were so many kinds 🙂

    Like

  5. What an amazing array of colours! I was in New York at the weekend and the flower district was full of amazing Poinsettias and Amaryllis. Not to mention all the trees and greenery.

    Like

  6. Debra says:

    Good grief these take my breath away…and I am chuckling to myself because I was watering my poinsettia in the sink the other day, took a picture, DID look up the history etc and had a rough draft of a post idea in my mind for next week and then here is yours. Which is so detailed and interesting, sheesh! love it 🙂

    Like

  7. Debra says:

    I think i’ll still post mine but do a direct to your better one with more details below. That will be fun !

    Like

  8. Pingback: Christmas Flower Garden in My Kitchen « « HOMESPUNHOMESPUN

  9. sued51 says:

    Beautiful…I don’t think I have seen some of those colors before…

    Like

  10. Wow I just love the variegated ones. I have never seen them before. Makes the cheap 6$ one I got from Walmart look like leftovers. hahah!

    Like

  11. I’m curious if you have the botanical names for these beautiful varieties? I’m particular interested in the “white with pink”
    Thank you….and Merry Christmas to you and yours!

    Like

    • Oh, I wish I did have a name to share with you. The photos of the poinsettias were taken at the greenhouse at the University of New Hampshire in Durham, NH. They do poinsettia trials every year. I wish I had the name to share.

      Like

      • Thanks for replying! I know this post is a year old so I wondered if you’d see my comment! I purchased the white and pink poinsettias this year at Home Depot and naturally they didn’t label them beyond “poinsettia!” I was just curious because I REALLY love this variety!

        Like

  12. Pingback: End of February | NewEnglandGardenAndThread

Leave a Reply

