Buttermilk Blueberry Breakfast Cake

We love our high bush blueberries here at 1840 Farm and always tuck some away in the freezer for the cold New England winter.

With an outside temperature of -1.9 ºF., I decided to bake something with blueberries that would not only add warmth to the  kitchen but result in something delicious for the farmers.

Baking with berries from our own garden in the dead of winter provides an added benefit of making us truly appreciate all the hard work we did in the garden the previous summer.

Although I love recipes that have family connections, sometimes you find a really good one on Pinterest and just have to give it a try.

The recipe was very quick to assemble, turned out moist inside, was crispy on the top, and pretty to look at. This may be, hands down, the best breakfast type cake/bread recipe I’ve made.

Buttermilk Blueberry Breakfast Cake

Buttermilk Blueberry Breakfast Cake

We shared it with family, had it for breakfast with hot coffee, and enjoyed it for dinner with a delightful omelet made with our farm-fresh eggs.

Slice of Slice of Buttermilk Blueberry Breakfast Cake

Slice of Breakfast Cake

It was delicious any time of day. Hope your family enjoys it as much as ours.

Buttermilk-Blueberry Breakfast Cake
adapted from Alexandra’s Kitchen

Serves 6-8

½ cup unsalted butter, room temperature
7/8 cup* + 1 tablespoon sugar**
1 egg, room temperature
1 tsp. vanilla
2 cups King Arthur White Whole Wheat Flour (set aside 1/4 cup of this to toss with the blueberries)
2 tsp. baking powder
1 cup fresh blueberries
½ cup buttermilk***

* 7/8 cup = 3/4 cup + 2 tablespoons
** This 1 tablespoon is for sprinkling on top
*** To make homemade buttermilk, place 1 tablespoon of vinegar or lemon juice in a liquid measuring cup. Fill cup with milk until it reaches the 1-cup line. Let stand for five minutes.

1. Preheat the oven to 350ºF. Cream butter with 7/8 cup of the sugar until light and fluffy.

2. Add the egg and vanilla and beat until combined. Meanwhile, toss the blueberries with ¼ cup of flour, then whisk together the remaining flour, baking powder and salt.

3. Add the flour mixture to the batter a little at a time, alternating with the buttermilk. Fold in the blueberries.

4. Grease a 9-inch square baking pan (or something similar) with butter or coat with non-stick spray. Spread batter into pan. Sprinkle batter with remaining tablespoon of sugar. Bake for 35 minutes. Check with a toothpick for doneness. 35 minutes was perfect timing.

Although there was a suggestion to wait 15 minutes, we couldn’t  – we ate it warm.

Linked to My Turn for Us, Freedom Friday, 01/04/12

Linked to Katherine’s Corner Thursday Favorite Things Blog Hop

About Judy @ NewEnglandGardenAndThread

Master Gardener who enjoys gardening, quilting, photography, and traveling.
This entry was posted in Recipes and baking and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

25 Responses to Buttermilk Blueberry Breakfast Cake

  1. This looks delicious! Thanks for the recipe I will have to try it! I love the layout of your blog! Its so cool how you have the moving snow I am guessing?? Beautiful!

    Like

  2. gooseyanne says:

    Hey Judy – please don`t! I`m trying to get off the weight I put on pre- and during Christmas 😦 Your cake looks delicious … Goosey will be right over with his plate and napkin.

    Like

  3. Jewels says:

    This looks amazing!

    Like

  4. Grandma Kc says:

    That looks yummy! Sadly you can not get decent blueberries in California but maybe when red raspberries come back in season… because that does look delicious!

    Like

  5. Ogee says:

    Mmmmm…..hungry. Do you deliver?

    Like

  6. Thanks for sharing. I will have to try this one when my blueberries are ready to pick this year.

    Like

  7. I can smell it from here, Judy!

    Like

  8. debra says:

    oh that looks good.

    WOW …so okay. When I am freezing my A** off on a nine degree morning again I’ll remind myself of your temps / much worse!

    Like

  9. Joyce says:

    mmm…..sounds heavenly! My favorite recipe with blueberries is a sour cream bread from an old Country Living magazine. Of course, our berries are store purchased, and nothing like your home grown ones!

    Like

  10. Diane says:

    Looks yummy! Farm fresh blueberries are soooooo much better than the grocery store variety!!

    Like

    • Judy says:

      Do you grow blueberries? We do, but I usually go picking at a local farm to get some extras. My theory is you can never have too many blueberries.

      Like

  11. Oh no! I’d love a piece of that but I am on a diet!

    Like

  12. oh i love blueberries. Happy New Year wishes and thank you for sharing at the hop. I hope you will stop by again soon. I posted the new giveaway! xo

    Like

  13. fgassette says:

    Great recipe.
    Thank you for visiting my blog today. I appreciate the time you took to stop by. May your day be filled with joy and peace.
    BE ENCOURAGED! BE BLESSED!

    Like

  14. fgassette says:

    Looks yummy!

    Thank you for visiting my blog today. I appreciate the time you took to stop by. May your day be filled with joy and peace.
    BE ENCOURAGED! BE BLESSED!

    Like

  15. That looks great!! I have buttermilk in the freezer. I sure hope it freezes well, i never seem to use it all up in time. Did you use frozen berries instead of fresh? I assume you did.

    Like

Leave a Reply

