Chicken Coop

I cleaned the chicken coop this morning. Now, there may be some of you thinking – yuck, I don’t want to do that any time soon.

Well, let me say I might have had that opinion in the past as well. But, in the last several years, I have enjoyed fresh eggs provided by these lovely ladies.

The cruel fact of the matter is that chickens have to live in a house that doesn’t have separate bathroom facilities.

Cleaning the chicken coop is one of those jobs that has a beginning, a middle and an end.

When I’m done, I can look around and appreciate a job well done plus I have wonderful deposits that can go in the compost bins to make fertilizer for our perennials.

Life is good. πŸ™‚

Grandkids checking out the chickens under the coop

Grandkids checking out the chickens under the coop

About Judy @ NewEnglandGardenAndThread

Master Gardener who enjoys gardening, quilting, photography, and traveling.
This entry was posted in Farming and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Chicken Coop

  1. Lili & Mum's says:

    Been there, done that. πŸ™‚

    Like

  2. we had chickens for 18 years before moving- we NEED to build a coop

    Like

  3. sued51 says:

    I’ve heard chicken manure is actually better than cow manure for gardens. I’ve met a lot of gardeners that swear by it.

    Like

  4. gooseyanne says:

    That brought back memories! It was always my job to clean out the chicken coop when I was a kid – and I hated it. I can still smell it just reading your post. It has stopped me from ever keeping chickens (I don`t like eggs by the way) although I love painting them – chickens that is – not eggs!

    Like

  5. That’s a cute little chicken coop! : )

    Like

  6. The chicken coop isn’t as bad as everyone says to me either. I have a poop board under the roost that gets scrapped regularly. As a result of that the rest of the coop stays pretty darn manageable in terms of cleaning and smells. I know for myself I worry much more if people can smell my cat box when they walk in.

    Like

  7. Joyce says:

    darling little chicken coop! my grandparents had hens and I loved going inside the toasty warm coop in winter to find eggs…those were warm, too!

    Like

  8. Grandma Kc says:

    I will let you keep the chicken coup but I sure wish you lived next door so that we could have an egg or two now and then! I would trade baked goods?

    Like

  9. Seasonsgirl says:

    For us a clean coop= happy chickens= more of the good eggs πŸ˜‰

    Like

  10. What a beautiful coop. I too enjoy cleaning out my chickens and they enjoy me doing it. They think it is playtime. They climb on my shoulders and jump on my back generally being a nuisance and enjoying it. I often laugh all the time I am doing this job.

    Like

Leave a Reply

