DIY Bulletin Board

I love DIY projects, and this project started when my daughter showed me a picture from a magazine of a great bulletin board with shutters over a desk area.

The one in the photo opened and closed on hinges so the notes and clutter could be hidden.

Magazine

I wasn’t interested in opening and closing the shutters. I just really liked the way it looked – kind of like a window, but it would be usable. So, off I went to see what size bulletin boards I could find.

I ended up purchasing a 22″ x 35″ black bulletin board from Target for $16.59.

Corkboard

After I returned with my bulletin board, my husband headed to Habitat for Humanity Restore and found a pair of shutters 15″ x 32″ for $9.

My initial intention was to paint them, but when I was finished cleaning them with Murphy Oil Soap I found that the wood color matched our floors and stair treads so I left them the way they were.

Cleaning

We moved on to the blank wall near my sewing and craft area measuring to get the center of the wall, Then we used a stud finder to find and mark the studs with blue tape so we could screw into wood for stability.

Studs

My husband held the two shutters to the bulletin board with two long clamps. Then he attached one part of a french cleat to the back of the shutters and bulletin board and the other part of the french cleat to the wall.

Cleat

This was a pretty easy project once the measuring was done. We hung it up, and it was ready to use.

Project

I decided I needed something around the frame of the bulletin board so I looked at different materials and ribbons. I ended up with ribbon that looks like a measuring tape which I thought was appropriate for a sewing and crafting area. I put the ribbon on with double-faced tape in case I want to change it.

Tape

This project cost a total of $25.59, but it is worth a lot more to me on a daily basis. I keep small hand-made patterns, notes, notions shopping list, and the shutters are good for holding patterns. I love it!

Board

Linked to My Turn For Us Freedom Friday.

Linked to Family Home and Life Grandparents Say it Saturday

About Judy @ NewEnglandGardenAndThread

Master Gardener who enjoys gardening, quilting, photography, and traveling.
This entry was posted in DIY and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to DIY Bulletin Board

  1. Donna says:

    That is perfect for that area. It will certainly enhance your sewing corner. You guys are so clever and handy.

    Like

  2. Robert Edler says:

    Now, that’s a neat idea.

    Like

  3. Grandma Kc says:

    That turned out so nice! I love that you can just stick patterns in there, too! It will make your sewing area brighter, too!

    Like

  4. Debra says:

    Wow ! I love it! I’d never shut the shutters either / makes far more sense to use them to hold and file things the way you are doing and the tape ribbon is the crowning touch! Thinking of you this morning…wondering how much snow you are getting and hoping that you retain power and heat! 🙂

    Like

  5. Terry says:

    Great idea! I love creative ways to get organize!

    Like

  6. carolcovin says:

    What a great idea. My corkboard is hidden in my laundry room, but, it’s a mess. I was thinking of having my grandson organize it, as a chore to earn some money. But, I love this idea of being able to close it up.

    Like

  7. Grandma Kc says:

    I shared this with my sister and her husband. He used some old shutters they recycled from a barn on their home and I thought it would be so cool to carry that theme indoors with some more of those shutters. She loved it! Another project added to his list!

    Like

  8. Connie says:

    Wow! That turned out great! And looks like you put it to good use right away too. Thanks for linking with me.

    Like

Leave a Reply

