All things chicken drawing

Brookside Farm

Brookside Farm

I remember the fun I had spending a large part of my youth at my grandparents’ New Hampshire farm, Brookside Farm. They had dairy cows, chickens, sometimes a pig or two for meat or a couple of ducks, a huge vegetable garden, and a winding brook running right next to their property.

1840 Farm

1840 Farm

Now I live on a small, three-generation New Hampshire farm, 1840 Farm. We have Heritage Breed Hens, both regular and bantams, Dwarf Nigerian Goats, a handsome French Angora Rabbit, and our property borders a wetlands area.

I was very proud that my grandparents were farmers. I now feel that same sense of family pride as my daughter follows in their footsteps. My grandfather would have never guessed that we would all live and work at 1840 Farm only about 125 miles directly south from his Brookside Farm.

Besides being a wife, mother, daughter, farmer, and gardener, my daughter is a wonderful writer and was recently published in a new magazine, Popular Farming: Β Chickens! from the publishers of Hobby Farms Magazine.

She wrote a lead in article for the magazine on Family Farms, and her other article was a detailed story about how we constructed our chicken coop.

I don’t think pride can be measured because to see a picture of my grandfather in a modern magazine while reading her very personal Β 1840 FarmΒ farming story brought me to tears.

I guess the bottom line is that it is a wonderful thing to feel pride for your loved ones whether past or present.

And, to celebrate all things chickens, I am giving away a tote bag that I embellished with trim from a recycled sheet that we use for our Coiled Fabric Egg Baskets, stitching, and a large pieced chicken pocket.

Chicken Tote with large pocket and trim.

Chicken Tote with large pocket and trim.

To enter the drawing, leave a comment below – you can tell me if you have chickens. πŸ™‚ Β If you want two entries, leave me a comment on our Facebook Page as well. I’ll pick a random lucky winner on Thursday, March 7, 2013.

Think chickens, fresh eggs and have a great day!

————

Linked to Katherine’s Corner, Thursday Favorite Things Blog Hop

————

If you have a moment in your busy day today, we’d also certainly appreciate your vote for Favorite Grandparenting Blog.

Finalist

Β 
About Judy @ NewEnglandGardenAndThread

Master Gardener who enjoys gardening, quilting, photography, and traveling.
This entry was posted in Family, Farming and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

32 Responses to All things chicken drawing

  1. Elizabeth - Lili & Mum's says:

    How neat! I am trying to talk my husband into getting some chickens. I took a chicken course in college and enjoyed it so much. I have a friend who does have chickens who would love that chicken bag. Great chicken-related article! Congratulations to your daughter in her magazine pursuits!

    Like

  2. What a tribute to a lovely family…you have to be so proud. I too have so many memories of my grandparents farm. thanks for sharing this.

    Like

  3. Love your bag and your blog! The chicken looks just like my Rhode Island Reds!

    Like

  4. Grandma Kc says:

    How proud you must be! Congratulations! It is wonderful that you continue to pass down life on the farm. We don’t have chickens her in the suburbs in southern California but we sure had them when I was a child growing up on the farm in Michigan. I miss real eggs!

    Like

  5. Marylee says:

    What a neat story. I have 4 chickens and are getting 4 next month. I can’t believe how much fun they are and how delicious their eggs are! I love your tote ❀

    Like

  6. Congratulations! What a great magazine to be features in! You should be proud!! As you know I have chickens. 16 of them and they have pooped so much this winter I now think I either need a bigger coop or less chickens. Ugg! ( cute bag!! )

    Like

  7. Genny says:

    I did have chickens,but the nasty economy forced me out of my home and they don’t like chickens where I’m renting. The fools!! So I dream of maybes, raise a small garden and work and save. In the meantime, I enjoy hearing of the farms’ adventures. I grew up in a multi-generational family and it was the best life. I love farming!! Even if small!! I am so thankful for all the good things Ihave!

    Like

  8. terri peralta says:

    Would love to learn more about relax living lol i hope i win..thanks

    Like

  9. Diane Wunschel says:

    The bag is adorable, my daughter has 6 chickens. They are such sweet little girls.

    Like

  10. Donna says:

    I dont have chickens but I am envious of your sewing ability.

    Like

  11. Debbie Horner says:

    I have mine hens and they are range f tee and are so spoiled and greatly loved!

    Like

  12. Susan Riston says:

    I love my chickens! This is a beautiful bag, thank you for the chance to win it.

    Like

  13. F.Marie Burke says:

    I don’t have chickens now but have several times in the past. Love reading your blog and many on the list. I still love chickens and have kept a connection to those who share my interest. Do have a source of farm fresh eggs.

    Like

  14. Debra says:

    I didn’t know that she sold those baskets online ! well who needs chickens to go order one, not me! πŸ™‚ You must be so proud …now I want to read the magazine!

    Like

  15. Ok, now I have to go back to the store and pick up that magazine – I passed on it mere hours before you posted this…We don’t have chicken, but we’ve been discussing getting a few laying hens for a couple of years now. Maybe soon? πŸ™‚

    Like

    • We do love our chickens here, and I think you’d like the article on the chicken coop because she noted what worked and what didn’t work when we built ours.. When you think about keeping animals, they really are easy keepers and they leave you fresh food for your table.

      Like

  16. karlatrx says:

    We have about 35 chickens. I love the eggs they give us!

    Like

  17. karlatrx says:

    We have about 35 chickens. I love their eggs!

    Like

  18. L. Bryant says:

    We have 32 chickens. They started out as a 4h/boyscout project but now are “the girls”. We use and sell their eggs. We get all their compost and our garden shows her appreciation!!! The girls have been the insect control and complete removal of the japense beetle problem we had in our vineyard. Sice we live on three acres we do not have a rooster to avoid upsetting the neighbors. When we move to our retirement/homestead we will add a”guy’ to the group!!

    Like

  19. cookie5683 says:

    I live in the city now but grew up with chicken farms. We always had a few coops of our own with the most beautiful birds. I remember lingering as a child at the fence watching them pick at the grass for scrumptious delights. To this day I have a hard time eating chickens because of those memories. Thank you for the walk into my past. It brought a smile to my face today and for that I’m deeply grateful.

    Like

  20. Debra says:

    An update to my earlier comment.
    I ordered my basket from 1840 farm and it arrived already!

    HEY YOUR DAUGHTER FORGOT TO SEND ME MY EGGS!!

    Yea, no eggs in my basket….what the heck, Judy..the picture showed chicken eggs in the basket

    HA HA just couldn’t resist messing with you / love the basket πŸ™‚

    Like

    • Thank you for the first chuckle of the day. And, if you only lived closer, I would be thrilled to share eggs with you because we have them coming out our ears. We’re connected – I wrapped the cord for that basket. πŸ™‚

      Like

Leave a Reply

