Gardening cliff notes

It’s spring and we’re all busy so I’ll keep this short and sweet. 🙂

Purple Calabash by Jennifer Sartel, Iron Oak Farm

Purple Calabash artwork by Jennifer Sartell, Iron Oak Farm

.

Seeds – If you garden organically and are looking for some wonderful heirloom seeds accompanied by historical information and lovely artwork, check out my daughter’s 1840 Farm Heirloom Seed Collection.

My flower and vegetable seeds were tucked under the lights, and wrapped in the silver emergency blankets last Wednesday at 4 p.m. On Saturday morning at 9 a.m., I had some flowers and squash up already.

Cucumbers were up on Sunday. Tomatoes are not up yet.

.

Fertilizer – At the NHMGA Spring Conference last week, Kerry Ann Mendez, FertilizerPerennially Yours, was high on an organic cost-effective fertilizer for perennials available at our local Agway stores.

I picked some up in a 30 lb. bag for $19.98. I’ve been raking the beds to remove the leaves and sprinkling the fertilizer.

I’ll let you know if I see a difference.

Black and DeckerTrimmer – Kerry also spoke highly of a 6″ Black and Decker for trimming perennials. I purchased one for $49 at a local box store.

It works great on leaves and spent flowers but could not handle the grasses or even Shasta Daisies. The stems got caught in the blades. We returned it. I love the idea of this tool, but if I’m going to spend $49 I want it to work on all plants not just certain ones.

 Gardens – The rhubarb is coming up along with the daffodils, poppies, day lilies, and sedum.

Wildlife – It has been a big week for wildlife in the yard. On Thursday, around dinner time I noticed a flock of seven wild turkeys in the yard.

Early Sunday morning as I’m grinding beans for my morning coffee, I look out the kitchen window and see three deer browsing in the yard. I couldn’t get a photo of all three because of the early morning hours, gray sky, and they were standing in front of the woodlands blending in with the trees.

Weather – Last Friday we had sleet and snow while I was potting up plants with other Master Gardeners for an upcoming sale.

This week we are having decent spring weather so it will be back to raking, fertilizing, pruning and bringing furniture and pots from the barn.

Hope you are enjoying the start of gardening season where you are and that you have a great week. 🙂

About Judy @ NewEnglandGardenAndThread

Master Gardener who enjoys gardening, quilting, photography, and traveling.
This entry was posted in Gardening and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Gardening cliff notes

  1. Donna says:

    Sounds like you live in the country. We are suppose to have all that wild life. Still have a little snow here, but plants are coming up and the camper is out!

    Like

  2. Grandma Kc says:

    I know it is spring her because of the lizards! There is a little family of them that lives on the brick wall and they love that sun is starting to shine! Plus seeing lots more of the hummingbirds! It is fun to watch them while I do dishes.

    Like

    • Lizards – love it. I feed the hummingbirds and we have a couple of families of small birds that return every year. One makes their nest on my daughter’s porch and they are working away today and we have a bird house on our side and they arrived over the weekend. 🙂

      Like

  3. Debra says:

    Every year I forget about poppies until I see them in someone’s yard and then I wish I had them. I need to get a poppy plant! On the way home from work last year I passed a house that had poppies blooming for over a month!
    KATE and BRENT picked all of my daffodils on Sunday! I only have two plants…about 10 blooms. I was mowing grass and next you know they were picking all the flowers, lol!

    Like

Leave a Reply

