How does your garden grow?

The temperatures here in New England are still more early April than May, we’ve had no rain, but the sun is shining and the plants are growing.

Plants here on the farm are basically divided into two categories – veggies for the body and perennials for the soul.

I use some annuals but don’t break the bank buying them because of our short growing season and long winter if you attempt to over winter them.

I start some annuals from seed, pick up special varieties on sale at the local greenhouse, buy others as transplant slips, but I get really creative with perennials.

What colors are you especially enjoying in your garden this spring?

Have a great week of gardening. šŸ™‚

Shared on Family Home and Life Say It Saturday.

 

About Judy @ NewEnglandGardenAndThread

Master Gardener who enjoys gardening, quilting, photography, and traveling.
This entry was posted in Cottage Perennials, Gardening and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

26 Responses to How does your garden grow?

  1. So pretty. I don’t like buying annuals either. I’m cheap šŸ˜‰ I have a friend who grows all my veggies and flowers from seed for me. Thanks for sharing yours.

    Like

  2. Oh I love how others bring such color in the world without breaking the bank…happy monday to you!

    Like

  3. Ogee says:

    Our spring was too short…I’m so glad it can be extended by enjoying yours!

    Like

  4. well you are ahead of Canada BUT i do have daffodils, crocuses a, trillums and DANDELIONS šŸ™‚

    Like

  5. Such pretty flowers. I wish I could grow them.

    Like

  6. It has to be red this spring. Tulips glow with every red possible. Malc

    Sent from Samsung Mobile

    Like

  7. Debra says:

    OH I AM ENJOYING GREEN ….as in grass. Have to keep mowing it, lol
    Seriously I am enjoying the myriad violets in the grass..usually in the spring there are just a few in the front yard. This year they are in the front, side, back, etc. Love it šŸ™‚ But you have so much going on there already from your photos it is amazing! Beautiful! šŸ™‚

    Like

  8. I did! Love your primroses, tulips, and violets.

    Like

  9. Robert Edler says:

    My spring bulbs didn’t bloom this spring. First we had the draught. Then the too warm December and January brought them up too soon. Buds were starting to form when we went frigid with the ice and snow. So all I have is greenery and weeds. Also the never ending rain is making it impossible to keep the lawn in shape. And for some reason I have wild violets all over the yard.

    Like

  10. Grandma Kc says:

    Your flowers do look spectacular and so different from my yard. I do have beautiful orange day lilies and one Peruvian lily blooming and LOTS of Orientals have sprouted but it will be a couple of months yet for them. Thanks for sharing yours. LOVE the white violets.

    Like

  11. Everything’s looking so bright and sunshiney!
    Nice to know spring has arrived!

    Like

  12. Your garden is so enjoyable and fun…Loved the photos you shared, thank you.

    Like

  13. Patrick says:

    What a truly beautiful garden and mosaic of pictures to boot.

    Like

  14. Janet says:

    Thanks for coming by my blog today. You have some lovely flower photos.

    Like

  15. MythRider says:

    You’ve done a beautiful job.
    I live in an apartment, so very little gardening.
    But people like you make for some beautiful scenery while people like me drive around town.

    Like

  16. Karen says:

    I can’t believe the wonderful flowers you have in your garden right now…just lovely.

    Like

  17. Pamela says:

    Your collage is beautiful! My husband brought home a dusty purple rose bush today. I has so many buds on it and it smells like an old fashion rose. It will be a nice addition to my garden.

    Like

  18. Joan Stommen says:

    Besides your gardening and wonderful way with words….you’re an incredible photographer! With a totally super cool camera! I love that you’re having such great weather in NE right now! This has been a delightful read as I can picture our days back there praising spring’s arrival!

    Joan gramcrackercrumbs

    Like

  19. Connie says:

    I only buy a couple of 6 packs of annuals. I allow some things to go to seed and then they come up all on their own next spring. Isn’t it wonderful to be outside digging in the dirt again? Thanks for linking up šŸ™‚

    Like

Leave a Reply

