Flowers in June

During our wonderful five-day adventure with our granddaughter, the temperatures at home soared into the 90’s. After several days of these extreme temps, some welcome rain arrived.

Turning into the driveway, we were amazed at the growth in the gardens and the flowers in bloom. We literally stopped the car in the middle of the drive to try and take it all in.

On the veggie side, lettuce, beans, peas and spinach are all up while tomatoes, cukes, and squash are trying to cope with the temperature extremes. The raspberries love the heat and are loaded with blooms, and the blueberries and cherries are coming along as well.

As all gardeners know, everything doesn’t grow as you plan. Our flats of zinnias and marigolds that I nurtured from seeds have almost all been eaten by bugs. Disappointing – we do love these annuals because they remind us of someone very special.

Overall, the gardens are looking good – food for the body and flowers for the soul. Love it.

Happy gardening, and if you don’t garden, happy shopping at your local farmers’ market. πŸ™‚

About Judy @ NewEnglandGardenAndThread

Master Gardener who enjoys gardening, quilting, photography, and traveling.
This entry was posted in Cottage Perennials, Gardening and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Flowers in June

  1. Ogee says:

    I love seeing your garden. It’s like spring all over again. My Lupine has yet to bloom…and it will be 106 this weekend. I think it lost its moment. I’ll just enjoy yours πŸ™‚

    Like

  2. I know the feeling – three days in the upper-80’s, and the gardens exploded! Plenty of lettuces and radishes, peonies and daisies…
    I missed spring, but summer is welcome πŸ™‚

    Like

  3. Debra says:

    wow you have tons of blooms ! Gorgeous! I especially like that delicate colored iris!

    Like

  4. So sorry about your zinnias and marigolds. The pink lupine is wonderful! I understand they are common in New England?

    Like

  5. Grandma Kc says:

    They are beautiful! And I sure wish I was close by so I could come get some tomatoes this summer. Even our farmer’s market hasn’t had great ones yet this year but soon! And welcome home!

    Like

  6. I love that your gardens literally stopped you in your tracks.

    Like

  7. Joyce says:

    What a lovely welcome home gift! I think it was your garden’s way of thanking you for taking care of it so well! I love the assortment of colors and petal shapes…a real paradise of beauty!

    Like

  8. It’s incredible how things seem to grow in front of your very eyes at this time of year. Sorry about the zinnias and marigolds, that’s a blow, although maybe not too late to re-sow? Summer’s arrived in England too this weekend. About time.

    Like

  9. Jeannie says:

    Your garden is lovely. I totally get stopping in the drive, I stop in the garden gate to my door sometimes just to take it all in. for what it’s worth

    Like

  10. Your patch is looking good!

    Like

  11. I love coming home to be surprised by the gardens! I remember that feeling so well after going to New York last summer. You have so many beautiful plants in bloom already!

    Like

Leave a Reply

