Brown Sugar Cinnamon Apple Cake

ApplesIt’s apple season here in New England, and the family went picking last week at Butternut Farm in nearby Farmington, NH.

Butternut is a family-owned farm that works not only to support their family and customers but also our local community by donating to a food pantry and a scholarship fund.

Although they offer a tremendous variety of apples to choose from, my favorite is Macoun which is a cross between a McIntosh and a Jersey Black. It is crisp and has a good balance between tart and sweet – delicious.

I was asked to share the Brown Sugar CakeCinnamon Apple Cake recipe I mentioned in a previous post, so here it is for you to try.  I hope your family enjoys it as much as mine. 🙂

Oven:    preheat to 325 degrees

Apple Cake Ingredients – mix together and pour into the 9×13 greased pan

  • 1 cup brown sugar
  • ⅓ cup oil
  • 1 egg
  • 1 cup buttermilk (I never have buttermilk on hand so I use one cup of regular milk w/one tablespoon of vinegar or lemon juice that I let stand for five minutes)
  • 1 tsp. vanilla
  • 1 tsp. baking soda
  • 2½ cups flour
  • 1-1½ cups chopped apples

Brown Sugar Cinnamon Toppingmix and sprinkle over cake

  • 1 tbsp. of butter
  • 1 tsp. cinnamon
  • ½ cup sugar

Bake:  45 minutes

About Judy @ NewEnglandGardenAndThread

Master Gardener who enjoys gardening, quilting, photography, and traveling.
This entry was posted in Recipes and baking and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Brown Sugar Cinnamon Apple Cake

  1. My favorite type of apple between tart and crisp! Love this time of year up north.

    Like

  2. a keeper, for sure! I’m saving it to my recipe folder!

    Like

  3. I think I’ll try this cake this weekend! Good that you gave the buttermilk tip. I hate to buy it for recipes then have the rest of it just sit there in the fridge till I throw it out!

    Like

  4. Thanks for sharing. I buy a buttermilk powder (SaCo Cultured Buttermilk Blend for cooking and baking) – available in our walmart near other baking products. I use in pancakes and waffles all the time…works well, stays well in the fridge too.
    This recipe sounds yummy. Was looking for something “fall like” for snacks at quilt guild next month. Will have to grab my apples at the farmers market next week! 🙂

    Like

  5. Grandma Kc says:

    That cake looks and sounds wonderful – probably even better with your fresh picked apples! Yum!

    Like

  6. Yum! Thanks for sharing. I’ve been craving apple cake for a while! 🙂
    And congratulations on your Good Neighbor nomination! 🙂
    ~Jen

    Like

  7. This sounds very yummy, thanks for sharing, might have to try it! 🙂

    Like

  8. JSD says:

    Thanks for sharing! I’m looking forward to making this…yum! 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

