Pinterest and Projects

Years ago, I labeled file folders to hold pages I pulled from magazines and cut outs from newspapers. Now, I use Pinterest to pin things I want to look at in the future and remember where I put them. Remembering where I put them is really the key.

I saw this clipboard remake by the Crafty Quilter, pinned it, and thought it would be fun to try, but it fell to the back of my to-do-list. In the meantime, I kept seeing repins almost every day.

So, I decided to buy three clipboards and a bottle of Mod Podge. Β I already had some paper and craft paint. Anyone who does scrapbooking would probably have lots of potential materials and ideas for this project.

The Crafty Quilter gave great directions and the only things I did different were to paint all the sides first, elevate the clipboards on cans to keep them off the table for drying purposes, and used carpenter clamps to hold the clips open to dry.

I use mine for embroidery patterns and thread colors, my daughter uses hers for custom basket orders, and my granddaughter keeps drawing paper in hers. Nice, easy craft for those longer days that are coming up.

ClipboardCollage

I’m not one to spend hours on Pinterest looking through pins, or worrying about followers, but I find it an extremely useful tool to organize and maintain things I’m interested in. I think of it as a ‘green’ paper-less filing system for hobbies and crafts.

Happy crafting, gardening or whatever brings a smile to your face. πŸ™‚

.

Linked to Grandma’s Briefs Grand Social

About Judy @ NewEnglandGardenAndThread

Master Gardener who enjoys gardening, quilting, photography, and traveling.
This entry was posted in DIY and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Pinterest and Projects

  1. Joyce says:

    I agree with you about Pinterest. What a convenience!
    But I still have clippings from 30 years ago when my kids were first born and there were “real” magazines with cute ideas and pages to tear out and save. These clip boards would be fun to decorate and hold the clippings in categories like “Christmas” and “cooking” etc.

    Like

    • Looking through those clippings would be a hoot. When we moved across country, I had to part with those type of collections, but I still do have plenty of gardening magazines. The clip boards could really be done by the grandkids if they were interested. πŸ™‚

      Like

  2. So pretty! I must try this! πŸ™‚

    Like

  3. Pinterest is one of those things I feel like I need to figure out how to use. Right now I keep all Judy’s photographs on Dropbox.

    Like

  4. pbmgarden says:

    What fun! I still have a similar clipboard my daughter painted for me years ago.

    Like

  5. PINteresting! : ) I started with pinterest a bit then I forget to keep up with it…

    Like

  6. Looks like a great project. I have played on pinterest; but don’t keep up either. I am following way toooooooooooo many blogs and can’t keep up. The boards look great and looks like a great project to do with the grandkids. My rule of thumb is to try something first without them, to make sure they can manage.

    Like

  7. Grandma Kc says:

    Love your clipboards! My daughter keeps hounding me to join Pinterest but I have enough trouble getting away from the computer and I know it would just hook me in big time!

    Like

  8. Pingback: Pinterest and Projects | The Next Big Thing

Leave a Reply

