Wordless Wednesday – Good old days

needles

About Judy @ NewEnglandGardenAndThread

Master Gardener who enjoys gardening, quilting, photography, and traveling.
Image | This entry was posted in Sewing and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Wordless Wednesday – Good old days

  1. pbmgarden says:

    Judy, I can’t say I ever used them, but this package took me instantly back to my grandmother’s house and I can smell the oil from the old Singer pedal sewing machine.

    Like

    • I found them in some sewing items that were my Mom’s, but I don’t know if they were hers or my Grandmothers. My grandmother also had a Singer pedal sewing machine and I remember sitting there working to make the pedal and needle move.The package brought a smile to my face and I just had to share.

      Like

  2. Me too…brought back grandmas huge sewing chest with every kind of old needle packages everywhere….very cool capture.

    Like

  3. Susan Adcox says:

    Loved the first comment. I just have to say, it took me back to my early sewing days, too. Singer sewing machine, tomato-shaped pincushion, seam ripper for all the mistakes I made!

    Like

  4. sueturner31 says:

    Great…I agree with all the above…I was given alot of old sewing things recently and there was a pkt of needles with gold plated eyes that had..Harrods ‘Magnum’ printed on the front …It’s so evocative of times gone by…

    Like

  5. Grandma Kc says:

    What a wonderful find! I am sure my Grandmother had those same needles. Memories are so much fu!

    Like

  6. Joyce says:

    I have some of the same memories as you do! I sat on grandma’s lap and pushed the pedal. I remember her sewing basket and a small ball of wax. She used it to run the end of her thread over so it would slide through the needle more easily. While she was teaching me to sew, she threaded my needles. Later on, when her eyes began to fail, I did the same for her. Like you, sewing has given me so much pleasure in life – and it all started in grandma’s lap!

    Like

  7. Anything not made in China reminds me of the good old days.

    Like

  8. I love these vintage sewing items. I collect all that I can find!! I am just waiting for the perfect project to use them in.

    Like

Leave a Reply

