Cash gifts

In previous years, Christmas presents involved Santa and numerous trips to Toys-R-Us, local toy stores,  National Geographic for Kids, and other sources of interesting and challenging presents for children.

But, once children become eight and twelve and Santa is not part of the celebration, toys are not always at the top of their wish lists. There are musical instruments, music books, video games, CDs, chapter books, hobby materials, clothes, and of course they can always use a little spending money.

But, it wouldn’t be that much fun to just put some money in an envelope.

For my grandson’s recent birthday, I made a bow out of fourteen one-dollar bills, and he thought that was pretty funny.

Bow

So I went back to Pinterest to seek some more ideas. It only took a few minutes, and I found what I wanted.

For my granddaughter,  a little smile and a chuckle plus some money for new 1Direction albums. Six five-dollar bills in a frame that said: In case of emergency, break glass. She got a good laugh out of it. My grandson thought I should have also included a hammer – of course he did. 🙂

Money

But, for my grandson, I needed a really big laugh because that is the kind of guy he is. A few weeks ago, he had a bad cold and used a lot of tissues while visiting. Before leaving, he remarked that he owed me some tissues. So, I chose the gag that used a tissue box. The look on his face when he started to pull a tissue out and thirty one-dollar bills kept coming out was hysterical.

TissueboxCollage

We had a really nice Christmas, and these two gifts provided the chuckle that I was looking for.

Here’s hoping you had a good Christmas and some laughs along the way too. 🙂

About Judy @ NewEnglandGardenAndThread

Master Gardener who enjoys gardening, quilting, photography, and traveling.
This entry was posted in Family and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Cash gifts

  1. Kim13 says:

    Fantastic ideas! I love it.

    Like

  2. Karen says:

    You are so clever…I love your ideas. I’m sure your grandchildren did as well. I hope you have a wonder New Year.

    Like

  3. Great fun! Money can no longer be called a dull gift. Malc

    Like

  4. Grandma Kc says:

    Those are all awesome ideas! I love it that you made them laugh! Glad you had a wonderful Christmas. Hope tonight is peaceful and that 2014 brings you EVERYTHING!

    Like

  5. What a very clever girl you are. Tremendous ideas to use for Christmas cash gifts. I think this would make a great wedding gift too. Blessings, Laurie

    Like

  6. JSD says:

    This is a wonderful idea…will have to try to remember it for next Christmas. I’ve got nine grandchildren, some already in or ready to creep into the ‘money’ stage. Thanks!!!

    Like

  7. Grandma Kc says:

    Still great ideas! Glad I came back. Hope you are having that wonderful 2014!

    Like

  8. Linda says:

    Great idea. Our kids love receiving cash gifts, but how fun to ‘dress’ them up like this.
    Stopping by from the GRAND Social

    Like

Leave a Reply

