Hand-made gifts

After a cross-country move and living without things for almost a year, we stopped buying stuff at Christmas for immediate adult family members.  If it isn’t needed, wanted, or can’t be used, it just doesn’t find its way under the tree.

So, we tend to make a lot of our gifts and every stitch is made with love.

T-shirts…

tshirt Collage

Reversible apron with Kansas Jayhawks on one side and chickens on the other…

ApronCollage

Kitchen towels trimmed or embroidered…

TowelsCollage

Quilted table topper with four maple leaves embroidered with maple trees with sap buckets  for our special camping friends…

PicMonkey Collage

Making gifts for family and friends takes a lot of hours in the sewing room, but it’s worth it to make special gifts for special people.

Speaking of special people – I recently made a chicken table topper in spring colors for a lucky blog reader or Facebook fan. If you’d like a chance to win it, just leave me a comment.

ChickenCollage

Simple little giveaway and, I’ll let you know the winner next Monday.

Have a great week and keep warm. 🙂

About Judy @ NewEnglandGardenAndThread

Master Gardener who enjoys gardening, quilting, photography, and traveling.
This entry was posted in Family, Sewing and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Hand-made gifts

  1. your gifts are awesome and the table topper is adorable! You have lucky friends and family!

    Like

  2. What fun! (And you KNOW I love that Jayhawk apron!) 🙂

    Like

  3. Oh my heart skipped a beat with the tee…reading is my passion…love it♥

    Like

  4. Cheryl Robertson says:

    Judy, you are so talented! Your friends and family are very lucky to have you in their lives. Stay warm

    Like

  5. Jason says:

    We just stopped buying Christmas presents for our adult kids and take a trip together instead.

    Like

  6. Joyce says:

    Oh my! I would love to win the pretty chicken table topper! Great idea to make usable gifts – everyone doesn’t have the time or talent, but when you do, nothing comes close to how special they are. Yours are wonderful!

    Like

  7. Ogee says:

    I can’t imagine a better or more meaningful gift than one of time and love. Wonderful!

    Like

  8. Donna says:

    I am VERY lucky and absolutely love the table topper. I will always cherish it and our friendship.

    Like

  9. Grandma Kc says:

    What wonderful gifts everyone got! Those t-shirts are all fabulous! I want your sewing machine!!!! They are all wonderful gifts from the heart. Grampy and I gave each other slippers this year! We wanted something under the tree and we both needed them desperately!

    Like

  10. debrapugh says:

    Oh oh OH would Tallica love a Powered By Coffee tee shirt like that. LOL she’s always posting things about coffee keeping her going. And that piano one is too funny!!! These are so nice, Judy…everything is very nice ; you are one talented lady, but I think you can start selling tee shirts! 🙂 If you do I’ll order the first one, too…I just need one by May! 🙂

    Like

  11. JSD says:

    What a wonderful Idea! These gifts would obviously be much more appreciated than bought items. Thanks for sharing with us.

    Like

  12. I am so impressed with all your embroidery work!! I have been “playing around” with my machine a bit; but the size is pretty limiting with the 4×4″ spacing. I am still having trouble lining up square in the frame (hooping). I did buy some stabalizer I saw Nancy Zieman on PBS use – Sulky – Self adhesive tear away stabilizer, and am going to give it a try. What wonderful gifts you have made! I agree with you about the hand made gifts! I have about 12 projects on my list for this month; and two are crossed off!! Did get 5 Bible verses embroidered for our quilts at church and turned in on Monday so they can pass out the blocks to be sewn up. My next priority is to repair two dog beds from LL Bean that the grandpuppies have started to wear out!

    Like

  13. Would LOVE to win this !!!! Hoping everyone is keeping warm up there in New Hampshire 😉

    Like

  14. Wow you are very talented! I love your table toppers. I also love your idea of making things for Christmas … I try to do that too. 🙂 Thanks for the chance to win!!!

    Like

  15. sued51 says:

    Wow…I would feel blessed to be the recipient of one of these gifts! So much love and thought in these gifts…priceless!

    Like

Leave a Reply

