Happy ♡Valentine’s Day♡ Week

When I hear the words, Valentine’s Day, I get all warm and fuzzy and think of gorgeous red roses,  beautiful red and white decorations at The Homespun, creative crafts at What Happens at Grandma’s, or a wonderful school day at Amaraland.

And, then I come to my senses and remember we are still in the dead of winter here in New England and everywhere you look there is nothing but white.

WinterCollage

We cleared the snow from the storm last night, freezing temps are coming in tomorrow, and there is another snowstorm coming our way on Thursday. I guess we’d better keep the John Deere gassed up, the shovels at hand, and the pellet bags open.

This past weekend the grandkids had a sleepover and the weather was okay so we were able to get out and about.

Besides our shopping trips, we also went to see The Lego Movie. It is a really nice little movie with a lot of positive messages – highly recommend it. My grandson also took some of his savings and bought the new Lego Movie video game for his XBox 360. Great game – just like playing ‘in’ the movie.

We also watched The Hobbit: An Unexpected Journey. Talk about the yin and the yang of movies. This one kept you on the edge of your seat, and I would highly recommend it for people who don’t get scared of really ugly creatures or imaginary things that go bump in the night. It wouldn’t be for little ones who might have bad dreams. Can’t wait to watch The Hobbit: The Desolation of Smaug so we can see if the hobbit and the dwarfs can defeat the dragon.

For me, this week holds the start of a new quilting project for an upcoming birthday present. It’s always warm and bright in my sewing area, and there is no shoveling required. ☺ When Valentine’s Day does arrive on Friday, I’ll spend a little time with my special Valentines.

Here’s hoping you have a great week and a wonderful Valentine’s day with those who are special in your life. ♡

About Judy @ NewEnglandGardenAndThread

Master Gardener who enjoys gardening, quilting, photography, and traveling.
This entry was posted in Family and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Happy ♡Valentine’s Day♡ Week

  1. Joyce says:

    Happy Valentine’s Day to YOU too, Judy! Thank you for mentioning me among your list of blogs that make Valentine Week fun for you! Nothing but white outside here too – a great time of year for those red roses. pink frosted cupcakes and bright big bows on boxes of chocolates!
    Enjoy your quilting!

    Like

  2. Grandma Kc says:

    Happy Valentine’s Day Judy! Thanks for mentioning me, too! I love the pictures of the icicles — they almost look like birds!

    It is going to be a crazy but wonderful day in AmaraLand on Valentine’s Day. The PTA is having a Teachers Appreciation Breakfast at 7:30 and I have to get up and make and deliver 2 monkey breads! Be back to the school at 9:30 for a 2+ hour PTA meeting. Then be back at school at 2:15 when it is supposed to be 80 degrees and I am selling fruit pops for the PTA. Maybe Grampy will have chocolate waiting for me when I get home! My day sounds as crazy as your weekend was. I hope I have as much fun.

    Like

  3. If my kids were smaller, we would no doubt have gone to see the Lego Movie. We still have a couple of boxes filled with what must be many thousand Lego pieces from years ago. As to the Hobbit, I remember reading it aloud to my boys when they were about 10 and 7. A fine book, and a lot easier to get through than Lord of the Rings. Stay warm.

    Like

  4. Surprise surprise ( when I saw Homespun there! 🙂 It’s all white here too though we have not had your amount of accumulation. Your grands could start making tiny snow-Legos ! : ) Those icicles are ethereal looking in the photo..almost look like cloth or feathers or birds or something ! I loved reading the Hobbit and Lord of the Rings when I was younger…probably my first read was in middle school and then I know I’ve read them each again at least once or twice in my lifetime. I was surprised that the LOTR movie was as good as it was. I never thought it could be as good as the book but it was…

    Like

  5. What a great grandparent you are! Taking the grands to see these wonderful movies…they will never forget these memories. I still have the beautiful memory of my grandmother taking me to see the Sound of Music. What a day it was. Thank you for your kind words on my blog today my friend.

    Like

  6. Karen says:

    I’m looking at your photos and imagining what our home looks like. Stay warm and hopefully the next storm will be lighter.

    Like

  7. those are really cool icicles Judy!!!

    Like

  8. I know it seems like forever until spring comes, but it’s defintely on the way. Hang in there.

    Like

Leave a Reply

