Weekly Photo Challenge: Treasure

This silk quilt block was put together by my great-grandmother, Alma Austin, in the late 1800’s or early 1900’s. I treasure this block because I find the materials themselves interesting, know she cut each piece out, and then stitched them together by hand. This is the oldest family treasure that I have.

I come from a long line of women who stitched either by hand, by treadle or electric machines. I enjoy the modern machines of today but highly respect the talents of those who came before me.

My mother was a professional seamstress and when I look at items she made for my daughter I am still amazed at her exceptional skills. My daughter sews and has a successful business, and my granddaughter shows interest.

Family and tradition – they keep your soul warm and a smile on your face.

I think my next quilting project may have to be incorporating that block into something I can enjoy and pass on to my daughter. Ideas?

About Judy @ NewEnglandGardenAndThread

Master Gardener who enjoys gardening, quilting, photography, and traveling.
This entry was posted in Photography, Quilting, Weekly Photo Challenge and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Weekly Photo Challenge: Treasure

  1. Joyce says:

    The first word that comes to my mind too, is “treasure!” How wonderful to have something that dear lady touched with her own hands! It looks like it might be the size of a large pillow – is that a possibility? Or, maybe a custom frame for it so it could hang in a place of honor.

    Like

  2. What a beautiful family treasure, the colours are so vibrant and have preserved so well over time. If I was you, I think I would have it framed and have it on display but not in direct sunlight so as to preserve the beautiful colours and patterns. I think it is lovely how the stitching tradition has passed through the generations.

    Like

  3. I agree about framing it, along with the note that talks about it belong to “mother”. I’ve read that you want ‘acid-free’ matting, and you do not want to put between glass. I would hope you have a good frame shop in your area that can offer suggestions on mounting; otherwise it is time to “google it”. Preservation is the key. Thank you for sharing it.

    Like

  4. I see the other ladies say to frame it and that was my first thought too. Then for a project, I’d try to replicate that block / perhaps putting a little border around it to signify it was the replication and then if you were to continue on with a crazy quilt the rest of the quilt would be your own designs. Or you could replicate the block 3x or so ( depending on its size ) for a table runner or dresser topper or some such thing perhaps?

    Like

  5. Grandma Kc says:

    It is absolutely beautiful. I do love the fabrics and to know that they were touched by your Great-Grandmother is wonderful. Since I am not the quilter that most everyone else is — I will leave it to them to help with suggestions. I will just sit here and admire!

    Like

  6. I love crazy quilting and I am trying to learn to do the hand stitches. Love this block your grandmother made.

    Like

  7. Raconteur says:

    I am feeling nostalgic. Thanks for such a wonderful post.

    Like

  8. Oh what a treasure that will be, for you to add your own touch to this to pass on down through the generations. What about a photo block? Maybe of the family?

    Like

Leave a Reply

