Thread Thursday

Our good camping buddies from up north gave me a sign for Christmas – Life’s Better At The Beach. They know me well. 🙂

Sign1

Last week I decided I couldn’t do anything about the feet of snow still on the ground or the snow that was falling, but I could paint my four-season porch and lift my spirits with a nice light color to match my beach sign. I used Behr Paint – Rain Washed on the wall and Cumulus on the ceiling.

After the painting was completed, the right day bed cover, shams and pillows found, the only thing left to cover were the orange/brown/blue cushions on the rattan chairs.

I was unable to find covers or new cushions that would match, but I found some beach towels at Bed Bath and Beyond with shells on them that matched perfectly. Add some scissors, matching thread, imagination, and I have chair covers and two quilted shell mug rugs.

BedCollage

The options are endless when you have a sewing machine and some thread. 🙂

Any inside projects on your to-do-list this spring before you start gardening full time?

 

About Judy @ NewEnglandGardenAndThread

Master Gardener who enjoys gardening, quilting, photography, and traveling.
This entry was posted in Sewing and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Thread Thursday

  1. Donna says:

    I absolutely love it!!!!!

    Like

  2. Joyce says:

    What a pretty and peaceful place to sit while you welcome in spring! That beach theme should keep you happy in the meantime!
    I wish I had time to paint a few of the smaller rooms, but day to day cleaning and pick up just wears me out so I’m always pushing it to the next day – which, of course, never really comes!

    Like

  3. I love it. It does have a very beachy feel. Is “Cumulus on the ceiling” white??? I was picking up yellow paint chips at the hardware store on Saturday. I desperately want to paint my horrible blue living room light creamy yellow. French country is my thought in this ol’ victorian house. 🙂 Waiting for May when Hubby will be home full time to help with the moving of furniture etc.

    Like

  4. Grandma Kc says:

    The redo came out beautifully! And you are right — life is better at the beach! Someday you must come visit and share our beaches. I just love the shell shaped coffee rugs. I didn’t realize the shape until I enlarged the photo — they are perfect!

    Like

  5. IF I didn’t know where you were I would think it was a room in a beach cottage! Looks so fresh and pretty…love that color / reminds me of robin’s eggs and spring.

    Like

  6. you changed your blog name!! love it as well as you paint colours. Room looks so peaceful and relaxing. very beachy!

    Like

  7. LaLindaArtStudio says:

    It looks so gorgeous and beachy. From my my own experiences I would say life is definitely better at the beach. I live within walking distance to the beach : )

    Like

  8. Seasonsgirl says:

    It looks like it belongs in a magazine page 🙂 Great job 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

