Easter and Gardening

Here’s hoping you had a nice Easter weekend with plenty of good food including a few exceptional sweets.

We have a small family, but my daughter and son-in-law are both terrific cooks, so the food is always delicious from entrée to dessert and yesterday was no exception.

To add to the celebration, I saw a cute Spring Bunny on the web and spent some time creating a similar one for my daughter. It does require a chuckle that the original post said it would take a couple of hours, and I worked on and off for five days to finish it up. One day I fussy cut a binding, put it on, didn’t like how it looked, took it off, cut another and put that on. It is also my absolute first try at free motion quilting and appliqué, and there is no where for me to go but up. 🙂

Bunny

Now that I’ve eaten more than I should have but enjoyed every morsel, I really need to get back to gardening so I can work a few carbs off. The perennial beds have all been raked with the exception of one which is on my to-do-list for Tuesday.

Outside, everything is starting to poke through including:

OutdoorCollage

Inside, the seedlings are doing well and have transitioned from soilless mix to potting soil including:

IndoorCollage

Today I’m going to put some metal frames up with plastic over the raised beds so they can start to warm up. We’re down to weeks now instead of months before planting in the ground, and that is a really good thing.

How’s your gardening or quilting going?

 

About Judy @ NewEnglandGardenAndThread

Master Gardener who enjoys gardening, quilting, photography, and traveling.
This entry was posted in Gardening, Quilting and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Easter and Gardening

  1. Love your bunny project! You did a great job! Send me a pattern link please…it is too cute! I just downloaded a pattern for a bag: http://www.popularpatchwork.com/news/article/sweet-sixteen/5448/
    It uses 32 charm squares (5×5). Already I am thinking how to add some interfacing in the handle and between the layers, knowing it might be way too soft. 🙂 I think that is on my list after I get my bunting going today.
    My garden needs the winter leaves cleared out, our daffodils are finished and the tulips managed to bloom inspite of all the leaves at their feet. Oh, and my sedum still has flower heads that I need to remove from last fall. I save them once they dried out to use in the model rail road “tree making”. Next time I make a bunch, I will send you a pix.

    Like

  2. That bunny quilt came out GREAT!! No one would believe it’s your first attempt at appliques and free quilting! Amazing!
    Ps. your seeds look really good!

    Like

  3. Grandma Kc says:

    Your bunny is beautiful! It may have taken you a while but WOW the results were worth it. That is so very cute!
    We’ve had some wonderfully warm weather and I have plumeria buds everywhere! Lots of lily buds, too and my calla lilies are in full bloom. I love spring!

    Like

  4. Love the quilt, especially the design with the bunny holding tulips.

    Like

  5. Joyce says:

    Darling little bunny quilt! I did chuckle along with you on the multiplier you need to consider when taking on a project that promises to require such a minimal amount of time. Been there, done that too! But next year you’ll be five days ahead on your decorations!

    Like

  6. There’s no way I’d look at that bunny and think ‘a couple of hours’ unless it was ‘a couple of hours with my seam ripper’ ! He looks adorable and quite complicated! So cute!

    Like

  7. Karen says:

    I’m happy that you had a nice Easter with your family. Love your Easter quilt…I think it looks terrific. If the wind would stop, maybe I could keep the leaves out of the gardens. I just had the vegetable garden at our New Hampshire home tilled and looking forward to next month when the tomatoes can go into the ground. Your seedlings look nice and healthy.

    Like

Leave a Reply

