Gardening inside

Our gardens contain mostly perennials. Perennials are work horses that produce all season long and then hibernate and survive under feet of snow for five months.

For an initial investment of $9-$30, a perennial will produce for years and can also be divided into several new plants.

Most gardeners also want and need some annuals to provide a punch in containers or while the perennials are in between flowering stages. But, annuals are costly from $2.95 for a six-pack or $4.98-$6.95 per 4″ pot. They also reluctantly become part of the compost pile at the end of the growing season which in our part of the country is sixteen weeks at the most.

This winter has been so long I found myself this past rainy weekend at the local greenhouse perusing all the beautiful annuals and their gorgeous colors. I picked up some bright red geraniums and a few other plants also found their way into my basket.

However, I spent some time going through them all looking for a potential to split them into additional plants. Once a Yankee gardener, always a Yankee gardener. 🙂

PlantCollage

Do you split any of your plants – annuals or perennials?

My vegetable seedlings are also doing pretty well. Some are so good in fact, I’ll be moving them into larger cells today.  Happy gardening everyone whether that finds your hands in the dirt inside or outside. 🙂

VeggieCollage

 

 

 

About Judy @ NewEnglandGardenAndThread

Master Gardener who enjoys gardening, quilting, photography, and traveling.
This entry was posted in Cottage Perennials, Flower Gardening, Gardening and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Gardening inside

  1. Joyce says:

    Well that is smart! I’ve had one successful split – a hosta that had grown huge over 5 years. When even I can’t kill a hosta you know that’s gotta be a bionic plant!
    But splitting those expensive annuals is a real skill I admire you for! Thanks for the idea.

    Like

  2. I spent part of Saturday working a new flowerbed next to my porch. The original beds were destroyed during re-construction of our porch a few years back and I have never gotten anything done in that space. On the north side of the steps I laid a new (recycled) brick edge, got the ground turned over and added some peat moss. The LAZY WOMAN in me wants to just roll out a mat of seeds I bought, the smarter woman in me knows I need to split some hosta’s, and sedum and maybe lirope to edge it. I have a bucket of daffodil bulbs that need to be replanted too. Rain is coming this afternoon, so I better get moving!! (The side South of the steps is daunting….much larger, as it goes around the corner. Rain will soak it all nicely this week!)

    Like

    • Brick edging sounds nice. Drop that host in some water and it will pull apart easily and grab a knife for the sedum. Lirope – now there’s a topic for discussion. I had it in my garden for several years but it became so invasive I had to take it out. And the year I took it out required three cortisone shots for my back so I could even live through the winter. Never again for me.

      Like

  3. I love my perennials more every year. I really enjoy anticipating their return and then watching them go through the growth cycle. I’d definitely divide up those annuals like you did. I’m planning to experiment with taking cuttings of some annuals to winter over this year. We’ll see if I manage to do it or not. Your seedlings look beautiful Judy! Won’t be long before their all outside!

    Like

    • Yes, watching perennials return is like having friends come back for the season. I have taken cuttings of geraniums in before, rooted them in water and then potted them up to keep over the winter months. They never flourished quite like their mother plant but they did okay.

      Like

  4. I need to start more flower seeds in containers but I am so glad that I only did a few initially since most of them had to be moved back into the house on numerous occasions the last few weeks due to the weather 😦 Everything’s back out on the porch now and I finally “decorated” the piano top with something other than plants and dirt 🙂

    Like

  5. Ogee says:

    We split and split and split! Saves money, and helps to make all of our 16 beds cohesive by carrying some key plants all the way through.

    Like

  6. Grandma Kc says:

    I have a new oriental lily that should open before the week is over — especially since they are calling for 90+ Tuesday through Friday! My plumerias are fully of tiny new leaves pointing up at the sun — it is really cool! Planning a trip to Home Depot on Friday to get some more supplies to take and pot more cuttings! It is going to be a beautiful summer.

    Like

  7. Oh goodness, I love lobelia. And indoor gardening is amazing and a great way to get a jump on the season!

    Like

  8. Karen says:

    I have to spit my lilies this year…I know it will be good for them and I’ll have more to add to my rock garden. Your seedlings look great, I just replanted my tomato seedings from cells to 3 inch pots.

    Like

Leave a Reply

