The gift of time

Mother’s Day is Sunday, and according to a recent survey by the National Retail Federation an average of $163 will be spent on brunch, gifts, a day at the spa, gadgets, or jewelry. Wow.

The special women role models in my life are all gone, but they are certainly not forgotten.

FamilyCollage

My Grandmother had five children, saw her two youngest make the ultimate sacrifice in World War II and  lost two others as well as my only cousin during her lifetime. But I never heard her complain, and, through it all, she provided a loving summer home for me as I grew up

My Mother was a strong, independent, highly skilled seamstress who worked all her adult life outside the home in an effort to support us and put me through school.

My Aunt, who never had children of her own, loved me like her own while she coped with the loss of her husband in his mid 30’s and then dealt with a lot of personal challenges.

My Mother-in-law was a special woman who bore ten children, lost one in infancy, worked tirelessly inside the home, and loved each child, grandchild and great-grandchild like they were the only ones.

These women worked hard inside and outside the home and didn’t look for special recognition. If I had the opportunity to spend another Mother’s Day with them, I wouldn’t worry about the right Hallmark card, flower color, chocolate choice, or finding that perfect gift for $163.

These women would have liked some time with those they loved – maybe a fresh pot of coffee, a simple dessert, and just a nice visit would have made the day special for them.

So when you are trying to decide what to buy those special women in your life this weekend, consider the gift of your time  – that really may be the best gift of all.

Happy Mother’s Day to you and all the special mothers in your life. 🙂

 

About Judy @ NewEnglandGardenAndThread

Master Gardener who enjoys gardening, quilting, photography, and traveling.
This entry was posted in Family and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to The gift of time

  1. Joyce says:

    So perfectly expressed! Women with the correct values cherish time spent with their loved ones instead of material things. The significant women in your life obviously had these values. I enjoyed seeing pictures of them and reading of their triumph as good people despite the losses they endured.
    Happy Mother’s Day, Judy! I know your loved ones value you beyond measure!

    Like

  2. sueturner31 says:

    My mum died at 58, but always remembered.

    Like

  3. A beautiful post and tribute, Judy! Happy Mother’s Day to you ! 🙂

    Like

  4. Grandma Kc says:

    Oh I wish I could have a cup of coffee with either of my grandmothers – it would be the perfect gift for them and me. This is a beautiful — and I do hope you have a wonderful Mothers’ Day.

    Like

  5. pbmgarden says:

    Nice to have these strong women in your life Judy. Happy Mother’s Day to you.

    Like

  6. What wonderful role models!! I think you are right. Spending some time together, unhurried, is the best thing of all!! 🙂 (Wise advice my friend)

    Like

Leave a Reply

