Gardening mid May

I’ve been gardening almost every day for a couple of weeks now. Life is good. 🙂

There has been a lot more pruning than usual because of the harsh winter. I lost some perennials, the deer ate the tops of several boxwoods, something really damaged the Knockout Roses, almost all the butterfly bushes are dead, and it was so bad a lot of the thyme is dead and who thought anything could kill that.

MayCollage

As any good gardener does every spring, I’ve also moved things around. This year a little more so because of the dead plants.

Now, I’m trying to weed so that I can put some fresh mulch down. Some beds aren’t bad while a couple of others are really going to test  my perseverance.

The seedlings are doing well and are enjoying being outsideSeedlings every day.

I actually put a few plants in one of the raised beds and put a row cover on it. Too early, but I couldn’t stand it any longer.

Herbert Menninger

 

I also have a new gardening buddy this year – Herbert Menninger. Herbert is the grands’ French Angora rabbit. He has personality plus so when I’m outside I bring him out of the barn and let him hop around for some exercise. He has a large run on the other side of the yard, but I’m using this chicken run when I’m working on this side.

Here’s hoping your gardening chores are going well and you have a good gardening buddy as well. 🙂

 

 

About Judy @ NewEnglandGardenAndThread

Master Gardener who enjoys gardening, quilting, photography, and traveling.
This entry was posted in Gardening and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Gardening mid May

  1. Yes, it always seemed gardening started in earnest for me the week before Mother’s Day! Prior to that, I might get a few days here and there when I’d do some garden cleanup but growth wasn’t real obvious much before Mid May!
    So nice to see those pretty cherry blossoms, isn’t it?

    Like

  2. You are such an inspiration! I’m still waiting for the snow to melt. Ugh! Colorado is a whole different animal when it comes to gardening. I love being able to see here how spring REALLY should look. Keep up the sharing!

    Like

  3. Cheryl says:

    I thought I lost one of my butterfly bushes too, but it’s coming back! Our weather here in Northern California has been amazing. I have flowers on two of my tomatoe plants already! Hope it holds out. We have been known to get snow as late as Memorial weekend. But I kinda doubt it this year. Enjoy getting those hands dirty. 🙂

    Like

  4. pbmgarden says:

    Isn’t it wonderful to be back in the garden again? Love the photo of the Christmas fern.

    Like

  5. Herbert is beautiful!! I planted 4 new lilacs this year. If I remember to water them, perhaps in 5 or 10 years I will have some blossoms. We have white lilac along our driveway, but it never gets very showy. Hoping for the purple to grow quickly and give us a nice “break” along the fence. If it breaks the line of sight from the road to the backyard we will be happy.

    Like

  6. Grandma Kc says:

    Herbert really is beautiful and what a fun partner. Both Twiggy and Twursula love it when I am out in the backyard gardening. Seems no matter where in the house they are napping they will hear me and come outside. It does make it fun to have someone to talk to!

    Like

  7. not supposed to put things into the ground until end-May here / meanwhile it warmed up ( extremely warm ) and I put a few green bean seeds into the soil. I figure if we get frost there are more seeds in the packet! 🙂 Also have some tomatoes in containers now. Surrounded by plastic forks to ward off squirrels!

    Sorry that you lost so many plants over the winter! 😦 What you have going on, including Herbert, looks happy! 🙂

    Like

  8. Joyce says:

    I love the way you go after gardening as if it’s the plan of a globally successful business – yet you enjoy every single step of the process! (Well, okay, as you said – maybe not ALL of the weeding!) By the end of July, every single inch of your space will be covered in lush, edible beauty. Wonderful!
    Herbert is adorable! Is the plan to spin his fur into yarn?

    Like

  9. Karen says:

    Unfortunately our rough winter did a lot of damage at our place as well. My New Dawn Roses took a real beating and the deer ate my hollies down to the ground. What seems to be thriving this year are dandelions…they are everywhere. Good luck with this year’s garden.

    Like

  10. Oh I sure could use some tips from you…wished we lived closer. No matter, what the darn deer does…your gardens will always look fab.

    Like

Leave a Reply

