The Granite State

The June weather in New Hampshire has been gorgeous, and we’ve been living outside enjoying as much of it as possible. Waterfalls, sand castles, historic stone walls, or beautiful rustic scenes – we’ve enjoyed them all.

FirstCollage

We camped for a week at Hampton Beach, and we’re looking forward to two more weeks of camping this summer at Ellacoya State Park on Lake Winnepesaukee.

During the week, we tend the many gardens. The tomatoes, peas, beans, cucumbers, and squash are all doing well, and the lettuce is just going crazy. The raspberries and blueberries are getting ready to ripen, and the perennials are beautiful regardless of which direction you look.

VegCollage

Most Sundays you’ll find us about 30 minutes from home at New Castle one of our favorite spots to spend the day and enjoy our beautiful seacoast.

TwoCollage

We did have to close the windows and turn the air conditioner on because the temperatures are in the 90’s, but that’s okay.  🙂

How’s summer going in your part of the world?

About Judy @ NewEnglandGardenAndThread

Master Gardener who enjoys gardening, quilting, photography, and traveling.
This entry was posted in Day Trips, Gardening and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

21 Responses to The Granite State

  1. Karen says:

    Loved the post and all the lovely photos, Judy. I’m going to be able to enjoy a little more of New Hampshire now myself. June was a good month in the gardens and my tomatoes are just starting to take off with lots of blossoms and a few tomatoes forming.

    Like

  2. Catherine says:

    Beautiful photos of your gardens and New Castle. Our day lilies are ready to burst, transplants from our in laws garden in Wolfboro, NH. Instant smiles as I think of our wonderful visits. Have a wonderful day! 🙂

    Like

    • Beautiful day lilies and beautiful Wolfboro go together. It is always good to have family live in a destination spot. 🙂

      Like

      • Catherine says:

        Agreed! My mother-in-laws friend has a day lily farm and wanted us to stop by to take her discontinued lilies. My husband asked where are we going to pack these? Not to worry! The roof is always an option for our suitcases!?! He simply smiled and shook his head…he knows it’s my passion! 🙂

        Like

  3. 95 % humidity and was cleaning out the sandbox and toys etc and then getting it filled with fresh sand for Brent ….this was an hour or two ago. Ready to melt already / like a jungle out there. I felt your cool ocean breeze from one of the lovely photos and that helped a wee bit 🙂

    Like

  4. Grandma Kc says:

    Your pictures are wonderful and they just kind of ooze peacefulness. We are getting very lucky again this summer — at least so far! Last year it was very mild, too so I am keeping my fingers crossed. It is supposed to be 80-82 all week and while we are having a bit more humidity than I am sued to I am NOT complaining! Deb’s jungle does not sound fun! I’m sending her a breeze from our ocean, too.

    Like

  5. Joyce says:

    Beautiful garden and lovely shots of the water.Except for when the politicians descend, I don’t hear much about the Granite State. I think it’s deliberate though! If I lived where you did I wouldn’t want anyone else to know about it – more space at that lovely beach for just me, me, ME!

    Like

  6. Beautiful pictures. I’m spending my afternoon in the pool following my morning chores. Loving the great weather. Heatwave coming…..

    Like

  7. Erika says:

    Yes we have the ac on now too!

    Like

  8. Your photos are so stunning and certainly gives me that itch to travel more.

    Like

  9. It’s hot here. Not as bad as last summer. I think we’ve topped out in the 112 range. That’s survivable. Your pictures are beautiful. I love the cost (west coast for us). I love your flower pictures. Just incredible.

    Like

  10. It is hot here in Georgia but very tolerable – the real humidity hasn’t begun yet. The sunshine is glorious. I am familiar with Squam lake and remember some pretty perfect summers in that region!

    Like

Leave a Reply

