In the garden

It is bursting at the borders. The day lilies are still blooming, the brown-eyed susans and coneflowers are coming into their own, and the mop head hydrangea are beautiful.

Aug3Collage

We have had enough rain to keep the perennials blossoming and spreading so I have been rearranging as any good gardener does. 🙂 I’m not sure why I rearrange every year to get it just right and then I find myself doing it the next year as well.

I think it has something to do with continuing to divide plants until I have a lot more than I really need. So, I’ve been sorting and keeping the best for the beds and moving others out to the property borders. It’s a good thing I have the edge of the wetlands to sink the extras in because that way I don’t have to dispose of them and when someone asks for perennials I just dig them up. Works out pretty well.

The raspberries are finished, and the blackberries are ripening. Tomatoes are set on and some are ripening, and the cucumbers, yellow beans, and squash plants are all producing. Fresh veggies at every meal – now that’s a good thing.

How does your garden grow? Do you have just the right amount of plants or do you have a few extras as well?

Happy gardening. 🙂

About Judy @ NewEnglandGardenAndThread

Master Gardener who enjoys gardening, quilting, photography, and traveling.
This entry was posted in Cottage Perennials, Gardening and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to In the garden

  1. Your blooms are beautiful Judy! I always have extras too. A little more space would be nice but I enjoy that abundant look too 😉

    Like

  2. Very pretty flowers!
    Our veggie gardens are about even in progress. I don’t have a mess of flowers yet. Was going to redo whole front yard this year, however the price of plants here skyrocketed and quality lowered after the nasty winter Mother Nature slapped us with. I’m waiting until next year.

    Like

  3. sueturner31 says:

    I seem to have a compulsion to grow stuff..cuttings, seeds, dividing you name it…and then I think what can I do with this lot ?
    We do sell a lot when we open the garden…..but I find the overwintering the problem.
    I don’t think there is a cure for it. 🙂

    Like

  4. Joyce says:

    What a beautiful range of color and texture you’ve nurtured! The flowers would be enough for me, but then you’re able to eat what you grow too!
    I’d have a hard time tossing extra plants too – you’ve got the perfect place to keep enjoying them until you get a “shopper” you can share with!
    Love your OCD attitude toward your plantings! That’s a real gardener’s creativity at its best!

    Like

  5. As you know Judy, I have no self control so I always have more plants than I have space for. I wish I had room to keep more extras so I could sell them on for charity. Your garden is looking super. I hope the sun’s shining for you. Dan

    Like

  6. We are bursting at the seams with courgettes (zucchini) of all colours and shapes, but the beans and peas are poor this year….it’s been so dry…but the cucumbers and tomatoes are pouring out of the greenhouse for each meal 🙂
    I love this time of year when I can walk out and pick ingredients fresh from the garden

    Like

  7. I never have luck with black eyed susans…not sure if I buy the wrong variety or if they hate me

    Like

  8. Grandma Kc says:

    I always need/want more oriental lilies! I have a pink hydrangea which has been prettier this year than ever before and I don’t know why! The plumerias are all going crazy — another plant I can’t seem to get enough of. But your gardens surpass them all. So many yummy eats, too!

    Like

  9. pbmgarden says:

    Glad you’re having a productive gardening year. Love the hydrangeas.

    Like

  10. You have to move plants around, that’s part of the fun!

    Like

Leave a Reply

