September garden color

I get a chill just writing September. Where did the summer go? I wanted it to last longer after that wicked winter. Oh well, I guess I need some cheese with my whine.  🙂

The flower gardens are still lush and green and the blooms are predominately pink and yellow.

SeptCollage

Rose of Sharon, Hydrangea, Butterfly Bush, Knockout Rose, Morning Light Maiden Grass, Phlox, Coneflower

SeptYellowCollage

Marigold and pollinator, Coreopsis, and Brown-eyed Susans

The vegetable garden is another topic. Five raised beds, new compost last fall, weed free, hoops over the tomatoes – sounds good. We’ve had less produce this year than any previous season.

The cucumber plants died after about a dozen cucumbers. Of fourteen pepper plants, we have less than five peppers set on. The squash plants have produced okay, not great but okay.

The tomatoes while struggling with early blight, leaf curl, a couple of tomato horn worms are producing lots of cherries and medium-sized ones but no slicers so far. The weather this growing season has fluctuated from in the 90’s and high humidity to low 50’s some nights – absolute weather roller coaster.

How did our grandparents grow enough food to last their families all year? I don’t know.

So, Mary, Mary quite contrary – how does your September garden grow? 🙂

About Judy @ NewEnglandGardenAndThread

Master Gardener who enjoys gardening, quilting, photography, and traveling.
This entry was posted in Cottage Perennials, Flower Gardening, Gardening and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to September garden color

  1. Dawn says:

    Hi Judy! Our perennial gardens are lush and colorful after our cool, wet Midwest summer. Since the beginning of June, we have had over 25 inches of rain! I’m looking forward to many more nice weeks in the garden. I’m not ready for this summer to end either! I’m newly retired… and loving every moment at home and in the garden! Happy September days… ♡

    Like

  2. I’ve been pretty lucky in the veggie garden department. Everything planted worked out well. I didn’t get many smaller tomatoes, however my large purple Cherokee came in well, ate 7 so far. Got tomatilos coming out my ears! Now just waiting for brussel sprouts.. They are coming along slowly.
    I can’t write septummer, sephumid, septnotyet. Nope, not yet!

    Like

  3. I’ve also wondered how people fed themselves all winter during years of low harvest. New England yields are so unpredictable!
    I guess they just “made do”– a trait most Northerners seem to have passed down through generations!

    Like

  4. Joyce says:

    The acorns are dropping like crazy from the oaks that surround our house. They are huge this year – largest ones I’ve seen in the 30 years we’ve lived here. I’m just hoping that doesn’t mean another brutal winter.
    My flower boxes still look so lush with impatiens, yet I’m anxious to fill them with fall color.
    We’ve had the same summer highs and lows here. Sometimes, when the heat is less oppressive it seems like the summer is much shorter. Guess I’m never happy!

    Like

  5. Come to Houston….you will still get plenty of summer my friend☺

    Like

  6. pbmgarden says:

    At least your flowers are smiling for you. They look happy.

    Like

  7. Benjamin says:

    We’ve been lucky with tomatoes this year although same late leaf wilt (and other afflictions)have recently dampened the love-apple euphoria. Curse me for not rotating the tomato patch this year 😉

    Like

  8. Grandma Kc says:

    If I just lived closer I would bring my glass and some cheese and join you! Your flowers are beautiful and so different from here. My plumerias have been spectacular this year — the most flowers ever, same with my pudica but my lilies weren’t as prolific this year.

    Like

  9. Karen says:

    It sounds like you were describing my garden as well Judy. I’ve only had a few peppers on 4 plants…one not growing more the 8 inches tall. The rain storm the other day knocked off a lot of my tomatoes. Yes I agree, I don’t know how families fed the families lots of years.

    Like

  10. JSD says:

    I’ve been lucky this year for some reason. Just planted the tomatoes, no fertilizer, and they’ve gone gang-busters. My biggest problem are the d@^m squirrels. Big red squirrels, little hyper English squirrels, black squirrels, even chipmunks…they just love to partially eat as many tomatoes as they can…sitting in the garden holding them, giving me a look of disgust if I happen to come out there, evening bringing them up to the back porch and leaving them for my approval.

    Like

Leave a Reply

