Transition time

I knew the day would come when I pulled the last tomato out, but I still wasn’t ready. But, with nighttime temperatures hovering around 30 degrees, it was time.

Down came the plastic to be reused for the winter chicken run while the plastic hoops, tomato cages, supports, and clamps have all been stored for the 2015 gardening season. I put a couple of loads of shredded grass clippings and leaves onto the beds and then covered with burlap.

The green tomatoes are wrapped in paper for ripening and whatever they  result in will still be better than the tasteless ones from the grocery store that were sprayed with who knows what and traveled from who knows where.

HoopsCollage

The landscape this time of year is all about perennials going dormant and leaves falling – literally tons of leaves.

FallCollage

And, I do believe these may be my last roses of summer – Knockouts for sure.

RoseCollage

Today brings me one more day to garden since I’m headed out this morning to help plant a rain garden at our local Woodman Museum.

Once the hunkering down season starts here in New England, you need another hobby unless you count ice scraping, shoveling and snow blowing which I don’t.

So, quilting season has started with a throw cover being constructed and a holiday quilting class underway.

Have a great week gardening, quilting, taking photos, or whatever else lights your fire. 🙂

 

About Judy @ NewEnglandGardenAndThread

Master Gardener who enjoys gardening, quilting, photography, and traveling.
This entry was posted in Gardening, Vegetable Gardening and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Transition time

  1. I do believe you must have a winter hobby. I am going to try to do better with mine, sewing every day during the cold. 🙂 Can’t wait to see what you come up with in your class! Our heater was running overnight but it was a much warmer morning than those 30’s yesterday. I’ll take 50 to wake up with!! So, let me ask; will you let the leaves pile up in the beds over the winter or will you clear them out before the snow flies?

    Like

  2. Yes, the sad day has come…

    Like

  3. All my veggies are done / tomatoes in newspaper…flowers still blooming. It’s chilly and gloomy and since there’s no sun I can’t see the dirt to fall-clean anything, ha ha…they keep forecasting temps in the 30’s at night but it stays above that.

    Those leaves are gorgeous and so are the roses !!

    Like

  4. Joyce says:

    Sad time of the year, but there has to also be the sense of satisfaction that a job well done brings. I’m glad you have quilting to look forward to. That will yield the same contentment without the amount of physical work.
    I hope you’ll post on the rain garden. Have no idea what that is but would love to learn about it!

    Like

  5. Norm 2.0 says:

    We had some unusual early frost here in mid-September so our garden has been put to bed from almost a month already 😦
    I’m already starting to think about next year…sigh.

    Like

  6. It’s always so sad when the tomato season is over…..some of my grafted plants are still producing. It’s a miracle!
    Enjoy the quilting 🙂

    Like

  7. ivoryspring says:

    Oh my, your tomatoes look nice. I can go for some fried green tomatoes right about now. 🙂 Yeah, I lived in the South for more than a decade.

    Like

  8. I pulled out all my tomato vines on Sunday, just a few green cherry tomatoes were left.

    Like

  9. Grandma Kc says:

    You are certainly right about those tasteless things they try and pass off as tomatoes! I really want to hear more about your rain forest, too!

    Like

  10. pbmgarden says:

    You seem ready to face the next season. Hope the rain garden goes well. I think they make such good sense.

    Like

  11. Karen says:

    Tons of leaves are right…I need to mulch them before our first snow. It is hard to close the garden down but all good things must come to an end.

    Like

Leave a Reply

