Keeping busy

November is still a busy month balancing leftover outside projects with new ones started inside.

I spent one day last week storing furniture, raking leaves, and filling in a previous garden spot with sod. This week there will be one more day of raking leaves, deadheading grasses and putting up snow stakes.

Planter

But while reading a recent post at Midwestern Plants about planting winter pots, I thought of an outside planter my husband made me several years ago.

Its main purpose is to cover an unsightly gas pipe while providing a spot for some color in the summer. It is usually empty during the winter months.

Grabbing a shovel, I headed for the woods, dug up three small pines and cut some red berries for decoration.

I like it, and best of all, no pines were hurt in the writing of this post because I’ll replant them in the spring.

But, when it is just too cold to be outside doingQuilts anything, I’ve been working on two fleece throws in various shades of brown and tan. It gets really cold here in New England.

For the sports fan, I included some embroidery on his for the New England Patriots, Kansas City Chiefs, golf and basketball.

It’s nice to hang those fleece tops on my new quilt rack my husband made. Happy Birthday to me. 🙂

This week, I need to start two more tops and a rag quilt project for Christmas.

Geraniums

But, no matter how busy I am inside, I really miss gardening.

As I look out my kitchen window at my empty raised beds, I console myself with the geranium slips I brought in to root because they’re almost ready to pot up. This means I can get dirt under my nails at least one more time. 🙂

Are you keeping busy?

What are your winter hobbies?

 

About Judy @ NewEnglandGardenAndThread

Master Gardener who enjoys gardening, quilting, photography, and traveling.
This entry was posted in Gardening, Quilting and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Keeping busy

  1. Your winter pot and fleeces are lovely! I’m always busy all winter… lots more cooking, houseplants, family time. We’re freshening up our playroom to make it teenage friendly so that’s keeping us busy. I really, really miss the garden but I’ve grown to appreciate the inside winter days more.

    Like

  2. Ogee says:

    A rest is good…for gardens and people. If you get really anxious, you can come visit us. 🙂

    Like

  3. What a great idea to plant those pines / now you need to get the grands to string some cranberries and popcorn:) Or was that idea for the birds…..

    The throws look wonderful and I love that pretty embroidery. However, GO STEELERS! 🙂

    I have never made a rag quilt though I have seen a few and they are so cute / it’s on my mental bucket list; have to find a tutorial somewhere..

    Like

  4. M-R says:

    A most delightfully domesticated post, Judy ! 🙂
    How did you learn to quilt ?
    How can I ???
    No, you can forget that last question; but I’m genuinely interested in the first one.

    Like

  5. One winter hobby is the blog, that can eat up a lot of time. And then there’s thinking up more plants to buy.

    Like

  6. Grandma Kc says:

    I love the view out your window and I really love the vase you have those geraniums rooting in! As for my winter hobbies — they are pretty much the same as the summer ones but then so is the weather.

    Like

  7. Joyce says:

    I love your sweet little pine tree and can also see it as a place to string treats for the birds. It would be a joy to watch all winter long!
    Your quilts are always lovely. I am also self-taught and that is my winter hobby too.

    Like

Leave a Reply

