Ice

Winter has settled in here in New England. We’ve had rain, sleet, snow and now our first ice storm of the season. The side roads and driveways were like skating rinks. I ventured out on the crusted grass and took a couple of photos.

IceCollage

Then I received a blog post from a fellow blogger who is also a Master Gardener in my county. This gentleman is a photographer with skills.

I looked through the post and was in awe of the last photo. I sat looking at it and while always appreciating the beauty of Mother Nature I couldn’t help wondering what it was a photo of and how to explain the design and color.

I kept looking at it and thinking it looked like some of the most beautiful free motion quilting I’d ever seen, but I just couldn’t understand the color or what it had to do with ice.

Antilandscaper.org

So, I asked him, and when I received the answer I still couldn’t believe it.

He had cleared ice off his truck, it refroze, and he photographed it. Can you believe it? This beautiful design is ice on a truck hood.

It reminded me that we should never forget and truly appreciate the raw beauty of Mother Nature and what you can do with a good camera ‘if’ you have real skills. 🙂

 

About Judy @ NewEnglandGardenAndThread

Master Gardener who enjoys gardening, quilting, photography, and traveling.
This entry was posted in Photography and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Ice

  1. sueturner31 says:

    Stunning….. and as you say free motion quilting ….yes… inspiration…. 🙂

    Like

  2. Joyce says:

    That looks like a quilting fabric I’d love to have in my collection – and then I’d never actually use it – the fate of all my favorites!

    Like

  3. That is pretty darn cool!
    I’m happy if my photo is in phocus. .. 😉

    Like

  4. I sure hope you don’t have to walk on that icy driveway!

    The fabulous photo by your bloggy friend is stunning. Absolutely beautiful. It reminds me of those sand/oil/water frames that were popular sometime back where you could tilt and turn the frame to watch the “scene” change.

    (PS: I love your animated snowfall across your page.)

    Liked by 1 person

  5. pbmgarden says:

    That ice on the driveway looks treacherous, but lovely on the blueberry bush. Fabulous nature pattern…

    Like

  6. Grandma Kc says:

    That is absolutely beautiful. You’re right that there is so much beauty in nature that we often just ignore. Thanks for sharing.

    Like

  7. Ice can make beautiful patters in many places. I live how it looks when it coats tree branches, though that can be hazardous.

    Like

  8. I thought it was quilting too!

    Like

  9. Karen says:

    The beauty of nature in the least expected places.

    Like

Leave a Reply

