Poinsettia Trials

GreenhouseIt is a bonus to live a few miles from the University of New Hampshire in Durham where they are always on the cutting edge of agriculture.

The Macfarlane Greenhouse covers 25,000 square feet and is directly linked to research and teaching at the NH Agricultural Station, College of Life Sciences and Agriculture, and the Thompson School of Applied Science.

A friend and I enjoyed ourselves immensely looking at all the beautiful plants available at the 2014 Poinsettia Trials. Some plants had names or numbers, but they all had their individual beauty. They keep it simple and all pots are the same size and the same price, $14.00.

Flower1Collage

Flower2Collage

Flower3Collage

Flower4 Collage

Chair

 

I brought home a burgundy colored plant because I knew exactly where I wanted it, and my friend snagged one of the red ones with the white dots (technical term) as a gift for her daughter-in-law.

We were there the first morning of the three-day open house, and the Autumn Leaves and the red with the white dots plants sold out first.

Do you buy a Poinsettia during the holiday season?

If so, what’s your favorite color.

Have a great week heading up to the holidays. 🙂

 

 

About Judy @ NewEnglandGardenAndThread

Master Gardener who enjoys gardening, quilting, photography, and traveling.
This entry was posted in Gardening and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Poinsettia Trials

  1. Norm 2.0 says:

    This place s cool! I’m pretty traditional when it comes to Poinsettas so I’d go with Red or Burgundy as well.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Joyce says:

    Wow! If this post doesn’t get you in the Christmas spirit, nothing will! The page just “sings!” Gorgeous plants, and I’m sure, for someone like you who appreciates everything about gardening, this was a step into plant paradise!
    I also love seeing glimpses into your beautiful, tasteful home. Very classy! Your choice was perfect for that spot by the chair.
    I can’t have a real poinsettia because they are poisonous for cats. I have a large overflowing basket of silk ones on the kitchen window sill and I love the burst of bright red!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. An amazing variety here and I have never seen a yellow one before this. I think my favorite colors are either the standard red, or there is one that is not exactly pink or peach but more of a salmon one.

    Like

  4. Oh my!! So many BEAUTIFUL different colors! I might’ve blown the entire holiday budget there!!!!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Grandma Kc says:

    I had no idea there were so many varieties and such amazing colors! I want of those orange ones – wow! I don’t usually buy a poinsettia but now you have me wanting one. There is a man down the street who planted one many years ago and it is the size of a huge beautiful tree!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. I do like poinsettias, and these are some nice ones. My son lived in Ecuador for six months and he says there the poinsettias grow like shrubs.

    Like

  7. The pink one made my eyebrows lift….smile. Gorgeous flowers!! Merry Christmas to you my friend.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Karen says:

    I can certainly see why you wanted a burgundy one…it is perfect for your spot and is lovely. I used to buy poinsettias when we lived in Florida but I’ve never had luck with them in our home here in New Hampshire.

    Like

  9. I love the Poinsettia! We always buy 4-5 plants both red and white! 🙂 Merry Christmas!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

