Dear friends

Happy Christmas week! This is a week when you can reflect upon your many blessings both past and present.

LetterFrom my past, I received a letter, a real letter, from a dear friend in the midwest.

Are you old enough to remember the anticipation of going to the mailbox to look for a letter and being so excited to receive one?

I’ve known this lovely lady for too many years to put in print. Our husbands worked together, and our families played together.

We were ‘friends’ in the true meaning of the word maneuvering through a lot of personal and professional ups and downs.

Connecting again after so long was a wonderful thing. It brings hope for a future visit.

From my present, I have a dear friend from the northern partAfghan of the state. She keeps me supplied and satisfied with her many varieties of jam, jelly, applesauce, pickles, fudge and her husband’s special Maple Syrup. Any one of these gifts is a true delight to enjoy.

But this year, she gave me a beautiful afghan that she had just completed. I was speechless.

It is so soft and warm but has a heft to it that I can’t describe the feeling when you snuggle under it.

As I enjoy its warmth on these cold days, I look down at the rich colors and am in awe of her skills and generosity in gifting it to me.

And on Sunday evening, we had a pot luck dinner with friends in Portsmouth. I worked with her at a local university and the guys play golf in a summer league.

They have a lovely historic New England home and part of our pot luck dinner was hot pot. We’d never had it before, but it was delicious – beef, sausage, potatoes, onions, carrots. It was kind of like a rich stew only better. Add that to pork, side dishes, cheesecake, some wonderful wine and great conversation, and we were four very happy people.

Thank you to these special friends and to my blogging friends for emphasizing the true meaning of Christmas which is not a bag from a store at the mall but rather an opportunity to connect with friends.

BlogCollage

 

 

 

 

About Judy @ NewEnglandGardenAndThread

Master Gardener who enjoys gardening, quilting, photography, and traveling.
This entry was posted in Blogging, Family and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Dear friends

  1. Merry Christmas Judy!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. pbmgarden says:

    Reconnecting with friends is indeed a true gift. Merry Christmas Judy!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Norm 2.0 says:

    A very Merry Christmas to you and yours as well Judy. It has been a pleasure getting to know you and talking with you on here this year 🙂
    All the best for 2015!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Ogee says:

    The best gifts…from the heart! Merry Christmas. 🙂

    Like

  5. Dawn says:

    Sending warm wishes for a Merry Christmas, Judy! It’s such fun to hear about your celebrations with dear friends! ♡

    Like

  6. Joyce says:

    Yes, I certainly do remember the joy of receiving a letter in the mail – and then carefully writing a reply, making sure all the questions were answered. And “LOL” and “OMG” were not part of the vocab! Your gift of color and warmth is a beauty. Like you said, a continuing reminder of the blessing that is a good friend who never forgets us!
    Merry Christmas, Judy!

    Like

  7. Well by the sounds of it, you have some beautiful friendships indeed. You are blessed. Merry Christmas.

    Like

  8. Grandma Kc says:

    My favorite 93 year old Aunt still writes me letters and I love and treasure everyone of them. I can hear her voice in my head as I read them. I must admit she is the only one I send letters to and I cheat and type them in Word or they would never get sent!

    Merry Christmas, Judy! I am so glad this year has brought our friendship closer! You are a good friend.

    Like

  9. Karen says:

    Friendship is the best gift of all and is to be treasured. Merry Christmas, Judy. I hope you and your family have a wonderful day.

    Like

  10. You are so right! We may have done ourselves and family a disservice when we got all wrapped up in the gift giving – it is lovely to receive a gift, if it is not overdone, but you are so right…the gift of time with friends is the best!

    Like

Leave a Reply

