Fit in Fifteen

Hi, my name is Judy, I’m a Boomer, and I need to get in better shape. 🙂

About five months ago, a blogging friend, Kc at Amaraland, talked me into buying a Fitbit Zip in order to track steps taken on a daily basis. I love it! If you’ve ever wondered if you are sedentary in the winter or if you walk enough on an average day, this will give you that answer. It may be an answer you don’t like, but it will be an answer.

Kc lives on the west coast and can walk most days in warm to moderate temperatures year around. I have a little more of challenge with the cold, ice, sleet, rain, and snow up here in New England. That’s when I need to hit the big box store, mall, or my treadmill with a good book on the stand.

2015 does not include a diet resolution, but it does include trying to reach 10,000 steps per day and skipping a few of those chips or sweets along the way.

Have a blog? Have a Fitbit? Maybe we should set up a community to challenge each other?

Eve

Whether you are planning to have family board game night or heading out to a celebration, have a safe and fun New Year’s eve.

As 2014 comes to a close, I will kick it to the curb with as much gusto as I can muster.

I look forward to the optimism that the start of a new year brings, and here’s hoping 2015 is a healthy and happy one for all of us. 🙂

 

About Judy @ NewEnglandGardenAndThread

Master Gardener who enjoys gardening, quilting, photography, and traveling.
This entry was posted in Blogging, Boomers and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to Fit in Fifteen

  1. timelesslady says:

    Great ideas…I live in New Jersey and also have days that are not very conducive to walking due to bad/cold weather. Good luck…I’m wishing myself the same. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Break a ‘sweat’! No legs! Good luck for next year! 🎉

    Like

  3. It does work. Judy and I each had one but hers stopped working and I lost mine. I need to just get myself a new one.

    Like

  4. Grandma Kc says:

    Good Morning Judy! Because you are on the east coast you have a 3 hour head start on me everyday! And lately you are way in the lead! I have to push back from the blogs more often and get outside and I would gladly add any of your blog buddies to my list of challengers. It does make it more fun! As for 2014 — I am ready to wave goodbye to it, too! Here is hoping 2015 brings everyone health and happiness next year.

    Liked by 2 people

  5. Mother Hen says:

    Hi Judy, we are on the same wave length.. At almost 64 I have gotten too sedentary and it shows around my tiny waist, that is there under the muffin top..lol! I don’t like it! Got to do something! I may go with Leslie Sansone videos..Walking,, A lot of woman have had great success with them. I need to trim off at least twenty or maybe a bit more.. I look forward to it..

    Liked by 1 person

  6. pbmgarden says:

    I used a fitbit for a while and it was useful for motivation. Have fun with it and Happy New Year.

    Like

  7. A great idea I wonder how many steps should a dog take every day. I simply take him on a different route every day. If I find out I will let you know

    Like

  8. Happy New Year ! 🙂
    You must miss snow shoveling or something ? 🙂

    Like

  9. Joyce says:

    I love walking because of the low impact. I have too crazy a lifestyle to have time to even set this up, but Fitbit seems like it would really challenge you to keep trying for a higher number. So far, I rely on my dog to get me moving in the evening!

    Like

  10. cecilia says:

    Thank you for the link, I am dying to know how far i walk when farming! c

    Like

Leave a Reply

