January 5

Yesterday, we received several inches of snow and then Mother Nature topped it off with a layer of ice. We had to plow it off the driveways, and we were left with a bumpy skating rink.

YaktraxIt came in handy that a couple of weeks ago I bought a pair of Yaktrax. I strapped them on and headed out. No problem, I walked right on the ice and never slipped. What took me so long to get a pair?

The average daily temperature this week is going to be 20º Fahrenheit with a nightly low of 6º except Wednesday when it is going to drop to a wicked cold -8º.

I’m glad the bags of wood pellets are piled in the garage and ready to refill the Harmon pellet stove because it will roar all week.

There’s definitely no gardening going on here except for what I’m maintaining inside which includes several geranium plants that I started from slips. It can be a pain to move the pots on and off the windowsills all winter, but then you get to see a geranium blooming on a freezing cold day and it’s definitely worth it.

Geranium Collage

I’ve been keeping myself busy at the sewing machine finishing placemats for a gift, making a few small bags, and then I’ll start putting these blocks together for a quilt top. If you’re ever looking for a video on how to make a small bag with a zipper, Missouri Star Quilt Co. has a really good one here.

BagCollage

How’s your new year going so far? Keeping warm? Doing any gardening?

 

About Judy @ NewEnglandGardenAndThread

Master Gardener who enjoys gardening, quilting, photography, and traveling.
This entry was posted in Gardening, New England, Sewing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to January 5

  1. pbmgarden says:

    Wicked is right. Stay warm and safe. Glad there are products like Yaktrax to make life a little easier.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Jen says:

    Hi Judy – Wanted to let you know how much we enjoy your writing, pictures and thoughts! You make NH life come alive, and we appreciate that you make me pause and think, and reflect of the goodness of life.

    My daughter is learning to sew, and eyeing many of your projects.

    –Your friends up in Freedom!

    Like

  3. Ogee says:

    Something tells me “rest” is not in your vocabulary!

    Like

  4. sue harvey says:

    Michigan is Cold! With more to come. My only gardening is nursing another day of bloom out of the forgotten hyacinth I found in the garage. You’ve given me the guts to finally put my “cleats” on my boots and try them out.

    Like

    • 7 degrees this morning, and I wouldn’t have made it to the barn to do chores without the cleats because the whole driveway was a solid sheet of ice. We face the north and when we get the ice like we have now sometimes we have to endure it until warmer weather. Let me know how yours work. 🙂

      Like

  5. Joyce says:

    Beautiful pictures from your new camera! The geranium is lovely – a very welcomed burst of something besides white and grey on January 5th! Pretty place mats – and I like your choice of warm colors for the new quilt. Is that some sort of a mountain top pattern?

    Like

  6. The deep freeze has started, and will continue for the foreseeable future.

    Like

  7. Your geranium is such a lovely bright spot on a drab day! I grow them on my patio in the summer; I should consider keeping them around come next fall, bringing them indoors!

    I forgot all about Yaktrax! I sure could have used them walking my dogs yesterday on the icy road. I received a pair a few years ago for a holiday guide and passed them along to a daughter. I should ask for them back! 😀

    Liked by 1 person

  8. My buddy just bought some yaktrax the other day. I was waiting for her review, however no snow by her (b!).
    Love winter flowers. I force many bulbs at this time. The geranium is such a vibrant red! Gorgeous!

    Like

  9. Very cold here as well. About 13 degrees with wind chills below zero

    Those YakTrax look great and I am glad they work….pretty projects going on there too. The placemats are so prettty / love that fabric and I think those are delectable mountains blocks?

    It’s easier to see your pretties with this newer blog layout too 🙂

    Like

    • Thank you for the feedback on the layout. I wanted a Good Reads widget to work, and WordPress told me the layout and the widget weren’t working together because the layout I was using was old and retired. After I stopped laughing at the similarities, I picked a newer one. LOL Yes, mountain blocks in neutral shades will be for a throw in the family room.

      Like

  10. Grandma Kc says:

    I love your new theme, too! It does look really nice!

    You already know this but so that everyone can be jealous — it was 82 here yesterday and I spent a couple of hours weeding! May get to do it again today!

    Like

  11. Eliza Waters says:

    I bought my first Yaktrax after the same storm (I’m in MA). I wondered the same thing – what took me so long? I guess I realized I’m not as young as I used to be! We have a rambunctious new dog so I need all the traction I can get! Love the Geranium in your window. Geraniums’ bright color get me through the winter when nothing is happening in the garden.

    Like

  12. treadway says:

    You are making me want to get at my sewing machine…it is right here beside me and I do plan to at least sew a line or two. But need to go down in the basement to my other machine and work on my daughter’s Lotus quilt…I am in the process of sewing the blocks together…you can see the layout ,/a>.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

