Technology

Happy Monday! Twelve days into 2015, and I’m happy to report I’ve kept my resolution of 10,000 steps per day with my Fitbit. It’s hard work to keep to the goal every day, but I’m trying.

I didn’t purchase a smart phone when the rest of you probably did. I carried a tablet that also served as a traveling hot spot, a phone, and a camera. For a person who has back issues, this got to be too heavy on a regular basis.

The Samsung Galaxy Note 4 is like a much smaller tablet, convenient, responsive, and takes decent photos. I’m happy with it while I continue to look for that perfect camera.

In the meantime, I finished a couple more bags. I love making these bags, but even though I’ve been having fun I need to move on and get back to my quilting projects because how many bags can one person make.

I did take some comparison photos of the bags and York Beach so you could evaluate the camera quality for yourself.

Bag Collage

CameraCollageIf you need a chuckle, consider how many photos I took of my left hand, my shoes, and the carpet while I got use to handling the Note 4.  LOL

I’ve been using Dropbox to move the photos, but I still need a little more practice so it doesn’t take me so much time. Does anyone else use Dropbox or do you use some other file transfer app/program you like?

I guess you can teach old dogs new tricks, it just takes us a little longer to get the hang of it.

Here’s to having a good week of new tricks for all of us.

About Judy @ NewEnglandGardenAndThread

Master Gardener who enjoys gardening, quilting, photography, and traveling.
This entry was posted in Photography, Sewing and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to Technology

  1. pbmgarden says:

    Looks like you’re getting nice photo quality from the new phone camera. Congratulations on sticking with the FitBit Judy.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Joyce says:

    I see the difference in picture quality right away!
    At first, I wondered what the Fitbit could do that couldn’t be accomplish “for free.” But I am a competitive person and I can imagine myself challenging an increase in steps every day – if only by one. And now I have my answer! I’m glad you are enjoying your little device and benefiting from it!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. those photos are great. It’s good to be able to adapt as you go and grow! I use google to back up my samsung phone shots and picasa to edit. They seem to work well together.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Great comparisons. Seems the Note pulled in a bit more color than the old.
    I don’t do any processing on my photos, unless it can be done on my phone, like cropping and small adjustments. I then use the WP app to upload my photos to a new post. Save there, go to pc and write my post. Very, very simple!

    Like

  5. Grandma Kc says:

    I can just see you sitting there taking pictures of your hands and feet! You stated you “continue to look for the perfect camera” — I thought you were just going to use your phone? Are you still thinking there is a new big camera in your future somewhere? Go FitBit Girl!!! I have 5 others besides you on my FitBit dashboard and you continue to take the lead over everyone! Keep it up!

    Like

  6. What gorgeous bags….and the new phone seems to take a descent image. Happy snapping! I use snapseed on my ipad for processing photos

    Like

  7. I have a galaxy note 3 that I bought in Jan 2014. Love the size and the best photo setting

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Paige says:

    1) LOVE your bags 2) I’m good at the techie stuff if you have questions 3) Dropbox is absolutely the best way to move things around 4) I’m an Apple girl but I won’t hold it against you : )

    Like

    • I’m sitting here with my MacBook right now. Have owned Mac computers since the old SE. LOL Have you seen any good reference materials for using Dropbox? On my computer I’ve been dragging from my finder into Dropbox and on the phone I’ve been exporting/saving to device. Is that the right way.

      Like

      • Paige says:

        Well now you have me stumped because while I’m the biggest Mac fan in the world, I have not used one in years. I would assume that dragging files into Dropbox is correct, as that is what I do on my pc. As for the phone, I can set mine to save photos directly into Dropbox. I love that Dropbox is accessible from anywhere – I work in real estate and ALL our files are there, any of us can read, edit, or send at any time, night or day. Just keep playing with it – it really is great!

        Liked by 1 person

  9. Annie says:

    Your Samsung wins.. hands down. I’m impressed with your 10,000 steps. I find it difficult. How do you do it?

    Like

    • Gardening season, it is pretty darn easy for me. Winter requires that I have to walk on the treadmill at least three times and sometimes four in order to get to 10,000. I read while there which passes the time, but one knee start hurting and I have to take a break between sessions. I think that has something to do with age. 🙂 If I’m running errands, I can pick up quite a few if I park way out in the lot and make a couple of extra trips down the aisles in the stores. Do you use a Fitbit?

      Liked by 1 person

  10. Congrats on keeping with your goal! And you are still so much more technologically advanced than me. I still don’t have a regular cell phone and certainly not a smart one, but I do carry my camera everywhere. Not only is your new phone’s camera lovely, but so is that view and your bags!

    Like

  11. Congrats on sticking with the fitbit! I need to get a replacement for my old one.

    Like

  12. Sounds like you are having fun! 🙂

    Like

  13. Sartenada says:

    Very beautiful bags!

    Liked by 1 person

  14. Grace says:

    Judy, I think you will love your new phone. I really get some great pics from my iPhone. I loved your pictures of York Beach, I have a friend who lives near there, it is such a pretty place to visit!

    Like

Leave a Reply

