Winter

TireIt has snowed for two days, and we have one more day to go in this particular storm. The snow piles from the 58″ on the ground are almost unbelievable.

No matter where you drive around town, you see amazing snow drifts.

The people in that house on the left won’t be using their front door for a while, and the people in those two top floor apartments haven’t seen daylight through those in windows in a couple of weeks.

SnowbankCollage

At this point, you might be wondering what people in New England do during these storms. Quilting, sewing, reading good mysteries, cooking comfort foods like minestrone soup or pulled pork for sandwiches, baking cookies and banana cake, and trying to get in 10,000 steps per day keeps one moving along.

AfghanI finished a quilt top throw I have been working on for a while.

I also did a couple of mug rugs for a reader who kindly mailed me a special book about grandmothers that she thought I’d like to read.

That’s the best part of blogging – meeting new people and exchanging comments with them.

Bloggers and readers are a special group of people. They make my day better whether it is snowing or not. 🙂

 

 

About Judy @ NewEnglandGardenAndThread

Master Gardener who enjoys gardening, quilting, photography, and traveling.
This entry was posted in Quilting and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

24 Responses to Winter

  1. Joyce says:

    I agree with you heartily on the topic of bloggers who become friends and make our days better! Your quilt is beautiful! That’s got to be one of the best things a brutal winter delivers to people like you who are normally the “Energizer Bunnies” of the gardening world! You are forced to stay inside and accomplish something there too! And boy do you deliver! Enjoy your time in – with the positive attitude you project, you’re likely to emerge next spring with a nice stack of quilts!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I’m always amazed when I see photos from up north. My sister is in Long Island and she has been complaining nonstop about the shear amount of snow and ice in her area.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. The blogger community is amazing. And I think the GRANDMA blogger community is the most amazing of all.

    Fabulous quilt! I’d like to think I’d be as productive as you if faced with such a snowstorm. Thankfully I don’t have to consider it too hard as such sort of storms have never hit Colorado. Then again, storms of such size have never hit YOU before, have they!? Congrats on surviving the craziness… and creating beauty in the midst of it.

    Liked by 1 person

    • When we lived in Kansas, if you wanted mountains and snow you headed to Colorado. But this snow just gives us a break of a day or two and it starts right up again. It’s been snowing all day, won’t stop until during the night, and then we have more forecasted for Thursday. I heard a guy on the news say he’d just written a $1,000 check for plowing his driveway. Geez, I’m glad we have the John Deere.

      Liked by 1 person

  4. quiltify says:

    You have my admiration. My 10K step program has been suspended for the last two weeks and I see no start date determined!

    Like

    • I certainly understand the term suspended. LOL I had been walking outside and getting my 10,000 every day and then this snowicane has been going on for weeks now so I have to hit the treadmill which I find terribly boring even with a good book. I don’t make target every day either. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  5. Annie says:

    The quilt is stunning! You are much more productive than I am during these storms. I’m certainly not getting my 10,000 daily steps but I’m participating in another marathon…. a marathon of reading. I’m starting on book number 9 today.

    Like

    • Thank you. I don’t make my 10,000 every day. I try but some days I just can’t get there. It amazes me how few steps I take shoveling versus gardening. No wonder I like gardening better. LOL Is that #9 for 2015? I may have to go back and count because I’ve been turning those pages myself. 🙂

      Like

  6. sweetk8 says:

    I can’t imagine that much snow and I live in Finland! 🙂 It’s been a mild winter here which has been just fine with me. As for snow, I don’t mind it. I’d rather have it than just frigid cold weather and a grey dead landscape.
    Your quilt is wonderful. Since our house is still quite a long way from being done, I haven’t been able to do any crafting. I did buy a ton of great fabric during our Thanksgiving vist to the US and can’t wait to get sewing, although it will most likely be NEXT winter until I’m able to start.
    Spring is around the corner! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  7. I think I would agree with SweetK8 about the brown vs the snow. A little “frosting” would make things look better. We seem to be stuck with dull grey skies day after day. I’m tired of being cold. Hit me worse this year than last; and with my sewing room at a balmy 68; my feet stay cold. Perhaps I will walk over to the elliptical and introduce myself to it for a few steps. I can get to 2600 or so with daily living, grocery store trip and a walk to the mailbox. Maybe if the computer were powered by the energy produce on the elliptical I would be inspired. Oh; was wondering if that apartment balcony could support all that weight of the snow for very long? Looks like everyone else has been keeping theirs shoveled off. Happy Quilting while the weather is bad. It won’t be long and you will be starting seeds for your gardens.

    Liked by 2 people

    • It’s hard to do anything when your feet are cold especially work a variety of machines. I think you have a great idea – walk to get the internet. Too funny. And, I certainly wondered if that balcony could support that weight myself. It is a senior housing unit, but you’d think the management would clear it just to be safe.

      Liked by 1 person

  8. Whoa!!! The snow in the upper balcony looks worrying …. to me, anyway.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I came around the corner from the post office, saw this residence for senior citizens, and pulled off into a parking lot to take that photo. I looked at it and understood why maybe it couldn’t be cleared by the resident but wondered why the owner didn’t want the weight off that balcony. It looked like a recipe for disaster.

      Like

  9. Wow, now I feel like a piker in terms of enduring hard winters. Our winter has not been nearly as serious as yours this year. Stay safe and warm!

    Liked by 1 person

  10. That quilt’s gorgeous ! Love the colors and pattern.

    The snow piled up around the door of that house…what a picture.

    Like

  11. Your quilt is beautiful! Love the patterns and colors. It would look wonderful with me under it 😉
    I would love to have more snow. You read my snow day post. . Sometimes think folks run around like crazy and don’t smell the roses. . Or in this case, the smell of the furnace kicking on..

    Like

  12. Grandma Kc says:

    Blog buddies are the best! So glad you are one of mine. Now about that stupid snow — your pictures are awesome but I sure wish you weren’t having to live with it. Glad you have your quilting and your steps to keep you busy!

    Like

  13. Dawn says:

    Oh, Judy! We watch the weather reports for New England and feel for everyone snowed in! Hope that all of your blog visitors will warm your heart during this wild winter weather. Keep following your favorite inside passions. Imagine all of the stories you will have to tell, once this winter is but a memory! Stay safe and warm! ♡

    Like

  14. Nancy says:

    I am not missing the snow a bit! I do agree… the blogging community is such a friendly place! Keep warm under that beautiful quilt!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

