Seeds and Snow

February is the time of year when gardeners everywhere are scouring seed catalogs and getting ready to start the process of planting those individual seeds into cells tucked under lights and kept warm and watered until they are ready for the garden.

This winter and it’s 76.9″ of snow so far on the ground has kicked my butt. Yesterday, we cleared 7″ and were extremely grateful that we didn’t get the forecasted 12-18″. Seven inches means one clean up and two hours outside in the cold while 12-18″ means two or three.

My reality is that I’m helping clear snow every two days or so and coping with cold temperatures like right now of -4 degrees with a wind chill of -14. And, we won’t even talk about when all that snow comes off the barn roof and has to be moved.  🙂

Snowfall Collage

Although my spirit is willing, I just can’t bring myself to think about dragging all the equipment out to start seedlings in an area where I can’t get the temperature above the mid 50’s.

So, I’m going to break tradition and buy the plants I want this year. And, I’m okay with that.

There is a local farm, Stout Oak Farm, Brentwood, NH, that specializes in organic plants. They offer 33 tomato varieties, eggplants, peppers, cucumbers, squash, greens, onions, leaks, herbs, and flowers all grown in their heated greenhouses. ‘Heated’ is the operative word here. Last year, I purchased a couple of tomato and pepper plants that were big, lush, and produced all season.

So today, I’m going to dream about gardening, complete my order form, and look forward to picking up my plants once the snow melts and the soil warms up. I’m not sure when snow piles reaching to rooftops will melt, but I’m sure looking forward to it.  🙂

Snow pile

About Judy @ NewEnglandGardenAndThread

Master Gardener who enjoys gardening, quilting, photography, and traveling.
This entry was posted in Gardening, New England and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

36 Responses to Seeds and Snow

  1. Norm 2.0 says:

    I’ll probably start my seeds in a few weeks. We have’t had nearly as much snow as you guys this year, but most of January and February have been bitter cold.
    There’s going to be a lot of folks very happy to see this winter come to an end.

    Like

  2. Joyce says:

    AOL news called your weather “biblical” and our local news showed a strip mall in NH with a caved in roof. On CNN they said your winds were “hurricane strength.” You’re definitely not making this stuff up! It must feel like living in a hamster cage with those narrow paths carved into the yard to reach (what looks like) a storage shed.
    At least you have your gardening dreams to keep you happy until the final inches melt!

    Like

  3. Dawn says:

    Thinking of you, Judy, during this relentless winter! Stay warm and safe. Spring is coming. Keep dreaming those warm, sunny garden dreams! ♡

    Liked by 1 person

  4. sue harvey says:

    Hang in there! Saturday I watched PBS, HGTV etc only garden shows. I called it my “Fifty Shades of Green” fantasy day. I’ve definitely gotten cabin fever.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. I cheated and bought plants last year. . Soooo much easier. This year, I think I might bail on the veggies as I want to put in my front flowers and the care will take my time away.
    With all the snow you all got, there shouldn’t be any water restrictions this year! 😉

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Ogee says:

    I think helping out the local economy is a proud thing to do this year! I’m sure all that snow has hurt businesses as well. Bravo for you!

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Cheryl Robertson says:

    Judy, I feel guilty reading your post. We are having an early spring here in California with 70 plus degree temps. But I wish we were getting some of the snow you are getting. I may have to cut down on my garden again this year due to the drought. Stay warm!

    Like

  8. Sympathies on all that snow that your area has received. Very cold here in Ontario with a lot of snow & freezing winds but nowhere near the amounts in your setting. Take care. Beautiful photos! 🙂

    Like

  9. Eliza Waters says:

    I’m with you, Judy…enough already!

    Liked by 1 person

  10. Pingback: Seeds and Snow | NewEnglandGardenAndThread | WORLD ORGANIC NEWS

  11. pbmgarden says:

    I’ve been wondering how you’re faring. The scenes look quite beautiful but must be a nightmare to live in. Here’s to a graceful end to your snow worries.

    Like

  12. Alberto says:

    OMG! Snow is kind of magic, I know, but i hate snow! Your place is a living nightmare to me! I am so with you, believe me, you have all my compassion.

    Like

  13. Normally, I love snow but I’m with ya on this one!!! Two back to back tough winters. *sigh*

    Like

  14. Grandma Kc says:

    I am sure there is a yard under there somewhere! I hope it warms up soon but not so fast that you end up flooded!

    Like

  15. Nancy says:

    Snow, snow go away come back NEXT YEAR!! Starting from plants IS OKAY!! They will be fabulous!!

    Liked by 1 person

  16. slfinnell says:

    We had our first snow yesterday. I almost believed we would miss it this year. But alas not so. My youngest daughter put it best, “I like snow the first hour so I can photograph it. Then I’m done” she’s her mother’s daughter.

    Like

  17. I think you are fully justified in going the plants route this year. And I sympathize with your weariness at dealing with all that snow. We are having very cold weather that’s supposed to last to the end of the month, but not an unusual amount of snow.

    Like

  18. Annie says:

    Thanks for the tip on Stout Oak Farm. I think I’ll follow your lead and purchase seedlings, too.

    Like

  19. sweetk8 says:

    I haven’t acheived much success with seeds. Disappoint like that I can avoid with buying plants. And here, it’s especially appreciated with our short growing season. Don’t get me wrong though, seeds are a huge turn on for most people in Finland, they have cold frames and green houses too. I’m just not that kind of gardener I guess.
    As for snow fall and melt time… it’s usually quite typical to still have snow laying around into April!
    The Finnish Meterological Institute is excellent and offers information in English:
    http://en.ilmatieteenlaitos.fi/snow-statistics

    Like

    • I have had fun growing seeds many years but timing is also a critical piece. I’ve had seasons where I had tomatoes ready to go into the ground (hitting the lights) and there was no way the ground was warm enough. So, I will gladly drive up and pick up my plants this year. Interesting link – thank you.

      Like

  20. cecilia says:

    Good morning. We are in Illinois, not as much snow as you have.. that is awful! but we do have the cold and the seed books and my husband (off work due to the cold) is camping in his wee glasshouse sowing seeds, way too early but he cannot help himself! and at least it is warm in there, c

    Like

  21. Ruchi says:

    Wow! You have beautiful snow pictures here 🙂

    Like

  22. Judy, your post has made me realise how lucky we have been with winter this year. We have not had a single shower of snow that settled. This means that our perennials lok set for a quick take off. Hope everything catches up in your patch.

    Liked by 1 person

  23. Pingback: Sewing, Snow, and a Gift from a Blogger Friend - Frugal Little Bungalow

Leave a Reply

