Throwback Thursday – Way Back

I’ve been busy this week and thought maybe some boomers or children of boomers might appreciate and get a chuckle out of some of the things that passed through my hands.

Do you remember when a student carried a dictionary? I chuckled for sure when I saw this one had only 40,000 words, and its copyright dates were 1893, 1914, and 1930. Any ladies out there who took Gregg Shorthand or were tested on mimeograph machines? How about a grade school report card with marks for music, art and hygiene but science had to be handwritten on the card?

TTOneCollage

Then there’s Life Magazine from 1946 for $.15, a satirical recipe on “How to Cook a Husband,” and an article about aging, “It’s Over,” when you hit 60.

TTTwoCollage

Instead of a smart phone, a three-minute overseas call in the 40’s was $12 for three minutes, a job offer to a college graduate in the 60’s was $50 a week, and the delivery of a baby, both hospital and doctor, in the 70’s cost under $700.

TTThreeCollage

HouseOr are you interested in a three-bedroom house with a two-car garage, workshop, sleeping porch, wood stove and a large garden area for $49,000?

I’ve had a trip this week for sure going through family papers dating back to the early 1900’s. A week of so many memories included laughter, smiles, and in some cases tears.

Here’s hoping one of these items brought a smile or a memory of simpler times. I don’t know if they really were the ‘good old days’ or not, but they certainly were vastly different from today.

🙂

About Judy @ NewEnglandGardenAndThread

Master Gardener who enjoys gardening, quilting, photography, and traveling.
This entry was posted in Boomers, Family and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

28 Responses to Throwback Thursday – Way Back

  1. sweetk8 says:

    these were pretty good and caused me to laugh out loud. Thanks!

    Like

  2. Showing my age here. I remember all of those things and more! Going through old family papers can really turn up a lot of interesting items.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. This was a fun post, Judy! 🙂

    Today I have to go to URBAN DICTIONARY online to understand half of the things my youngest is saying on FB 🙂

    Like

  4. Great trip down memory lane. I have foggy memories of flying from New York to Brussels in 1954 on Sabena Airlines. It was a propeller plane that made several stops – Bangor, Maine; Newfoundland; then some place in Ireland before arriving in Brussels.

    Like

  5. Joyce says:

    These are great! Congratulations on your gold stars! I remember seeing a document with a sale price of $2,000 for the house my grandparents owned. I might have been about ten at the time and demanded to know why they didn’t buy lots more of them “at that price!”

    Like

  6. Dawn says:

    What a fun post, Judy! I’m definitely interested in the house with the sleeping porch and large garden! So happy that you found these treasures! ♡

    Like

  7. pbmgarden says:

    Great winter project Judy! I have several trunks from my parents’ house to go through but can’t bring myself to get rid of anything.

    Like

  8. I actually got a check from a client the other day that was done on a typewriter! All the ‘T’s’ were misaligned. .. Ah the good old days. 😉

    Like

  9. Grandma Kc says:

    These were wonderful and I’m so glad you shared them! Remember that 50 acre farm I’m always talking about? My mother sold it for $6000 in 1962. 50 acres!!!!!!!! They saw her coming.

    Like

  10. Annie says:

    I think it’s so important to preserve a family’s slice of history. Finally, I photographed boxes of clippings, photos, wedding invitations, recipes, journals, etc., and made an online album for everyone to visit. It sounds like you are the official family historian like I am.

    Like

  11. Hilarious, but of course, just like we were with our parents….our kids don’t want to hear it!

    Liked by 1 person

  12. Lorrie says:

    Yes, life was vastly different then. I remember a lot of these things – the hand written report cards and receipts. I am concerned sometimes that we are losing the uniqueness of handwriting and treasure all the handwritten things I have from my grandparents. A fun walk through memory lane!

    Like

  13. Karen says:

    What a lovely walk down memory lane. I can imagine how strange our grandchildren would think school was with shorthand and hygiene classes. 😀

    Liked by 1 person

  14. Rose says:

    Oh, my goodness, I did enjoy this. Science did not have to be written on my report card, but grades were written in the teacher’s handwriting. And I did take a year of Gregg shorthand.

    Like

Leave a Reply

