Thursday’s Door

My blogging friend, Norm, posts a special door every Thursday. He has a collection of doors from all over the world that are always unique in some way, and his photography skills are exceptional.

He recently extended an invitation to others to join in, and I wanted to participate and show my support. So, here’s my door which I photographed on the corner of Fleet and Porter Streets in Portsmouth, New Hampshire, last week.

Door

If the photo looks a tad off, I had a devil of a time trying to straighten it. If I got the bricks to line up perfectly the door was way off and when the door lined up there is a difference in the bricks and step. I’m guessing I can chalk that up to this gorgeous door being on an old house.

There are beautiful doors on many of the colonial homes up here, but in the majority of cases they are covered with a storm door for winter survival. Speaking of winter, the official snow-fall total came in at 90″ and while there is melting going on there are still feet left to go, and the big tell is the pellet stove is still roaring.

This morning we pick up our final documents for our trip to Holland, Luxembourg, and Belgium in four short weeks. If you’ve visited these countries and have a suggestion by all means shout it out. I’d love to hear your thoughts.

Here’s hoping everyone has a great Thursday and a nice Easter weekend full of family, friends, egg hunts, and peeps. Should I mention our forecast has snow showers in it for Easter? No, I’m going to ignore that.

And, here’s to Norm continuing to share his Thursday doors for all of our enjoyment because he has me looking at the homes and buildings I pass in a whole new way. 🙂

Linked to Thursdays Doors

About Judy @ NewEnglandGardenAndThread

Master Gardener who enjoys gardening, quilting, photography, and traveling.
This entry was posted in Photography, Thursday Doors and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

42 Responses to Thursday’s Door

  1. The door knockers look like they belong on the home of Scrooge in A Christmas Carol. Very handsome.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I LOVE your door! Happy Easter and safe travels 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Love this door, but also love your header. Hadn’t seen this one — great flowers all in the spring color I love!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Pingback: Thursday Door, Apr 2, 2015 | stitchinggrandma

  5. I love the color! So vibrant. The window above the door is very detailed. So much prettier than the modern versions. Thanks for sharing the photo and the link to the door challenge. Dug thru my old photos and found one to share. I am envious of your trip!!! Tulip time???

    Like

  6. pbmgarden says:

    Love that the door knockers are the same color as the door and what a beautiful color it is. Doors capture one’s imagination.

    Like

  7. Norm 2.0 says:

    Now that is an impressive door! Thanks for sharing it Judy.
    The knockers steal the show of course but I also like they way each has it’s own panel within the other panels in the door.
    I’m sure you’ll come back from your trip with tons of interesting doors to share 🙂

    Like

  8. Joyce says:

    The brick line up looks fine to me!
    The “art teacher” in me sees, firstly, a lovely study in rectangles – different sizes, colors, directions and textures. Then it moves on to the pleasant contrast of semi circle wedges that relieve the eye. Charming door knockers for a focal point, warm and cool color balance and a lovely formal balance complete this appealing composition – captured by a photographer who recognizes beauty in the “everyday” and enjoys sharing her find!
    I think we’re going to see some European versions in a month or so, too! – I hope!

    Like

  9. Nancy says:

    What a neat idea Norm has to share a door every Thursday! This door you shared looks like it is out of an old movie. Beautiful! Love your Spring Blossoms on your header!

    Liked by 1 person

  10. Grandma Kc says:

    That door is beautiful! I can hardly wait for you to take your trip so that we can hear all about it and see all of YOUR amazing pictures! Have a wonderful day!

    Liked by 1 person

  11. Bec says:

    This door is beautiful, I love the aqua too and the colour of the hand made bricks :

    Like

  12. Teresa says:

    I love old buildings. That door is beautiful! I bet there is a lot of parts of this build that are just as wonderful. Strange how we don’t put the special designs like these in our houses anymore. It took some special craftmen to design these pieces and be able to do it with the tools they had back then!

    Like

  13. quiltify says:

    I love doors…and window photographs, from inside and outside. Your trip sounds wonderful! I loved the Netherlands…so many cute towns you are unlikely to go wrong no matter where you go. For museums, my favorite was the Frans Hals museum in Harlem, but this is just the cutest little country…you’ll love the photographic opportunities. If you can find the church the pilgrims went to in Amsterdam it will bring you into a quiet little courtyard in Amsterdam, which apparently is similar to other private hidden inner courtyards behind building blocks. I need to go back to go to the Riyksmuseum and Van Gogh Museum.

    Like

  14. This is very magical door..something form Narnia. Great photo, great post! happy Easter, Johanna

    Liked by 1 person

  15. Eliza Waters says:

    Classical door! Very beautiful. What an exciting trip you have planned and the timing is perfect – before the summer crowds start. Have a great Easter weekend. 🙂

    Like

  16. Annie says:

    Your trip sounds wonderful. I’ve traveled around the Netherlands at the same time of the year. You’ve timed it perfectly to be there before they snip the heads off the tulips to strengthen the bulbs!

    Like

  17. Love this door (these doors?). And I would offer Holland advice, but as my sole trip there involved being stranded overnight while attempting to get back to the United States, I may not be the best person in the world to do so (not that this generally stops me).

    Like

  18. Dan Antion says:

    Those are serious door knockers. I love how they fill the panel thay are attached to. I also like the sunburst divided light arch top. That is impressive. Greta door!

    Liked by 1 person

  19. Robin says:

    That is a gorgeous door. I think it’s rare that the everything lines up when it comes to pictures of doors. Or windows, for that matter.

    Like

  20. What a beautiful door, Judy. I am a door-gawker. In cities such as Dublin and Florence, I spent so much time staring at front doors that it’s a wonder I didn’t stub my toe….

    Like

  21. Beautiful door! My husband would love lion knockers on our front door.

    Happy Easter to you and yours!

    Like

  22. a lovely door / wouldn’t have thought of it as crooked until you said so, lol!

    Like

  23. Great idea for a photo theme! Have a wonderful trip – you’ll be there to see the tulips! Don’t forget to take lots of pictures (though I’m guessing you hardly need to be reminded).

    Liked by 1 person

  24. Can’t remember if I already commented – but gorgeous door!! Also – I found an app that helps to straighten things – it works quite well! It is called SKRWT – check it out!

    Like

  25. merlinjr01 says:

    That is a gorgeous photo. I have a small collection of doors too. Incidentally, I recall seeing that door. Was stationed at Pease AFB many years ago. Enjoyed Portsmouth. Thanks for jogging some good memories.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

