May Gardens

It’s May. My back hurts, my hat has a sweat line on it already, and my nails are broken and dirty. Ah, the life of a gardener. 🙂

My gardens are waking up from a long winter but that includes not only the trees and perennials but the weeds as well. In an effort to combat the weeds, I moved four yards of mulch this week, and I still need more.

There are several plants including two Knockout Roses and two Butterfly Bushes that are touch and go as to whether or not they will make it after being buried all winter. Patience or replacement? I guess we’ll see.

MayCollage

Flowering Crabapple, Johnny Jump Up Violas, Bleeding Hearts, Lily of the Valley, Creeping Phlox, Christmas Fern, Balloon Flower, and Pulmonaria.

I’m also busy working on the upcoming annual Master Gardener plant sale to be held on Sunday, May 24th, and my volunteer gardening has kicked in. I help maintain the gardens at two Catholic Churches as well as three plots at the Joe B. Parks Riverwalk Public Gardens here in town.

This week I worked every day in the garden weeding, transplanting, pruning, planting containers, and mulching while last week, I was admiring the gardens in Brussels.

BelgiumCollage

Wisteria, Royal Palace, Violas, and Tulips.

May – it’s a wonderful month whether you are working in the garden or touring gardens. Which are you doing – working or touring? 🙂

 

About Judy @ NewEnglandGardenAndThread

Master Gardener who enjoys gardening, quilting, photography, and traveling.
This entry was posted in Europe, Gardening, Photography, Traveling and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

28 Responses to May Gardens

  1. joyroses13 says:

    Wish I was touring 🙂 Great pics!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Beautiful flowers! My butterfly bushes planted last summer haven’t shown life yet either. 😯 Not a good prognosis I’m afraid. Luckily they were free!
    I miss my Master Gardener plant sales! The plants available there were so unique and rare. I worked the sales just to be able to take the leftovers!

    Like

  3. Bill says:

    Working! (And loving it) No time for touring now. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Dan Antion says:

    Those are beautiful flowers and plantings Judy. That has to make you smile.

    Like

  5. sue says:

    No touring right now. My knockout roses, which I planted haphazardly and in the completely the wrong spot, thriving. Butterfly bush I thought was gone and ready for a dig out must have read my mind as it is sprouting New shoots. I love Lily of the valley but I’ve got to get them back to their own neighborhood ! I’m concerned that I’m not seeing the little pollinators. Only a bee here and there. Hummingbirds are usually at my feeders by now all thru the day. I’ve only had two sightings..two years ago I had flowers covered with Monarch butterflies, last year a few. I hope they’re not telling us our earth is not friendly to them anymore.

    Like

    • Now you are talking serious issues. We have had plenty of native pollinators but haven’t seen butterflies for two years and no hummingbirds for one. Scary situation. I had to do a little ‘containment’ gardening of my Lillies of the Valley this year. (Love that term so borrowed it from Gardening in the City.) 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  6. Oh my I can imagine every muscle must be screaming. I garden for a day and I need 3 days off!! I hiked around the zoo yesterday with the grandkids at 6700 ft elevation and this morning I am reminded I am no spring chicken!

    Like

  7. I finally got the butterfly milkweed seeds in the ground. Finding a piece of ground not already occupied by our incredibly enthusiastic day lilies and columbine … and those hedge roses that are obviously planning to take over the world (and may succeed), 100 milkweed seeds finally got their own spot in dapple sunshine on the edge of the woods. I hope they like shade. Spring is really going gangbusters, isn’t it?

    Like

  8. Joyce says:

    Touring? No. Working? Heck no! Reading YOUR beautiful blog and imagining strolling through the rows of blossoms – either yours or the ones in Brussels? YES!!!!!
    I know you immensely enjoyed the European gardens, but I can’t imagine you being content just to view what others have planted! Those well used nails, hat and aching back would never stand for it!

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Teresa says:

    Some touring. Local places. Our gardens are really growing now! Seems like one day the plants are just poking out of the ground and then a day or two later WOW! Spring is wonderful (and full of wonders) her in Wisconsin. Hugs, Teresa
    Gardensandcamera.blogspot.com

    Like

  10. I’m still working on divisions and pulling up unwanted trees — weeding…always weeding, lol!

    Like

  11. Paige says:

    Definitely not touring here … had to go back to the office today to rest after a working weekend. May is wonderful after a long winter!

    Like

  12. pbmgarden says:

    Beautiful flowers, especially the crabapple. You are one busy person. Hope your mulching efforts help keep the weeds at bay. I need to add more mulch too before the weeds take completely over.

    Like

  13. You have so many pretty spring blooms there!! I am pleased to see your crabapple since mine’s done already. Once it blooms it doesn’t last long. Volunteer gardening on top of what you already do there….amazing lady! 🙂

    Like

  14. Grandma Kc says:

    All of your hard work is certainly paying off as your flowers are as beautiful as those at the Royal Palace — thanks for sharing both. Sure wish I could get lily of the valley to live here.

    Liked by 1 person

  15. That’s a lot of gardening you’re doing! You are so good to share your skills with others, too! Consider those dirty nails a badge of honor!!! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  16. Nancy says:

    Oh but your hard work is paying off… such beauty is blooming right before your eyes! I can smell the beautiful fragrance of all the blooms! I am touring your gardens right now as we speak via internet. But my desert garden is a whole other kind of beauty! We are so lucky to love where we are and what we do!

    Like

  17. Lorrie says:

    Working. Hard. But today I’m not in the garden. Hungry mouths need feeding so it was time to hit the market. Your hard work will surely pay off in beautiful flowers and a healthy (if a bit sore) body.

    Like

  18. Working in gardens and looking at gardens are both fun, but if I had to choose I’d prefer to get my hands dirty.

    Like

  19. Karen says:

    All your efforts show in your gardens, they are lovely. I lost my two Early Dawn roses this year…I hope your plants make a comeback.

    Liked by 1 person

  20. Your garden photos are beautiful – I’m having fun catching up on your posts! Have been MIA the last few weeks due to work and life in general!

    Like

Leave a Reply

