Weekly Photo Challenge: Broken

When the challenge came through for something ‘broken,’ the first thing that popped into my head was Washington, D.C.

United States Capital – Photo credit: Wikipedia

The 2016 Presidential race started months ago here in New Hampshire. So far, there are many familiar faces and names. I’m not so sure that is a good thing because there are at least two things I’d like to fix in Washington.

The first would be to require all politicians to wear their major contributors’ logos on their clothing at public events. That way we’d know up front who they are really working for when they get  to Washington.

The second would be to require them to work more like a successful business.  A business manager calls a meeting with people assembled from various departments who voice their different opinions but come to an agreement based upon the goal of the company. It’s a simple and accepted practice when you work for the benefit of your stockholders.

Additional reader suggested fixes: Term Limits

Broken? Yes. Can I fix it? Not really. But I want to be part of a solution so I vote at every election – it’s always good to have hope for a better tomorrow.  🙂

In response to The Daily Post’s weekly photo challenge: “Broken.”

About Judy @ NewEnglandGardenAndThread

Master Gardener who enjoys gardening, quilting, photography, and traveling.
Quote | This entry was posted in Photography, Weekly Photo Challenge and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

29 Responses to Weekly Photo Challenge: Broken

  1. Dan Antion says:

    I’d be happy to let you write the rules.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. sue says:

    Thanks for the courageous insights. A comparison to Indy cars and all the sponsors would be very apt.
    Hang tough Judy. I’ve been seeing the path the pols have been beating to NH. We’ve got another year and a half to go! To quote the great Yogi Berra “it’s deja vu all over again”

    Liked by 1 person

    • I have to admit I really thought about this post because I’m not one to debate politics or religion but I kept coming back to the same point. 🙂 Unless you have lived in NH, you cannot imagine how many politicians come here week after week. Donald Trump was up the road at a middle school a week ago. Really? You just have to chuckle, keep a sense of humor and not answer the phone. Love Yogi Berra, and I think he’d get a kick out of seeing them lined up for a debate with their Nascar suits on. 🙂

      Like

  3. Murphy's Law says:

    Spot on!! I’m voting for you!! 😜

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I hear you! Great choice.

    janet

    Like

  5. Ogee says:

    I love this…especially the logos. They’d look like Nascar drivers! Covered from head to toe. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  6. I certainly wish the good of the people was foremost in their hearts and minds.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. What an interesting take on this challenge! And can DC be fixed? Doubtful.

    Like

  8. Joyce says:

    Agree 100% !!!! I think of you every time I hear “Blah Blah Blah is in New Hampshire this week!” Poor Judy! But Donald Trump at a middle school? Oh my gosh. I don’t know what to say! I’d run over there just to see what he looks like in person though!

    Like

    • LOL I have to say I thought about driving the two miles over there just to check out the hair do and hear what he could possibly say to middle schoolers that would affect a campaign. 🙂 Here is a stat for you: Since 1/1/15, 6 Democratic candidates have made 12 visits while 19 Republicans have made 94 visits and that doesn’t count the ‘others’ like Carly Fiorina. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  9. Grandma Kc says:

    If I got that close to Donald Trump I know I would have to touch the hair — see if it would break off in my hands! But in all seriousness Washington is broke. I really thought when our generation was in charge we would fix things — if anything we’ve made them worse. Term limits. Absolutely!

    Liked by 1 person

  10. Touch2Touch says:

    What good sense your post offers!
    Much too good sense for any of our professional politicians to pay any heed to it —
    Broken, indeed.

    Like

  11. <smile> clever response!

    Like

  12. Susan says:

    I love this post! Hmm, Donald Trump. On the positive side, I don’t think he can be bought – he’s got enough $ of his own.

    Like

  13. Exactly. Their uniforms should be like Indy car racers wearing the sponsors logos!

    Like

  14. I worked for state government for 19 years. I could write a book about all of the ways government as a concept is broken. I just think it’s something that was set up in a different era and as the rest of the world has evolved, it has made very sluggish progress. It’s frustrating that the public doesn’t really have much of a say in how our tax dollars are spent. We can vote…but it takes a village to get even the simplest thing done in government, so the person you elect only has so much power.

    Stephanie
    http://stephie5741.blogspot.com

    Like

  15. joyroses13 says:

    What a great idea for Broken!

    Like

  16. Actually, in Oklahoma the Capitol dome was paid for with money from the big oil companies, and inside the dome their logos are displayed instead of inspiring words about democracy.

    Like

  17. Great capture of the theme. We can only hope the ‘broken’ can be repaired.

    Like

  18. Nancy says:

    May I please vote for you.
    Oh and by the way… Fabulous thought for Broken!

    Like

  19. Pingback: Broken | My Own Champion

Leave a Reply

