Bicycles plural

I loved Amsterdam. Of course, what’s not to love – wonderful architecture, museums, tulips, canals, great food and bicycles. I especially loved the bicycles.

With gasoline at $10 a gallon, they have figured out ways to transport themselves, children, pets, groceries, and everything else they need personally or professionally.

Bike3Collage

There are regular bikes, tricked out bikes, custom bikes, electric bikes and bikes for rent.

Bike1Collage

Watching the riders zipping around Amsterdam, we immediately noticed not one of them was wearing a bicycle helmet. Everyone on the tour clamored to ask our tour director about the lack of helmets. She laughed and replied “the only people who wear helmets are the Germans who don’t know the war is over.” No offense intended. 🙂

Bike2CollageIn the United States, we have parking lots full of gas guzzling cars. In Amsterdam, they have parking lots full of bicycles. It was amazing.

Now ask me if we saw very many cases of obesity in Amsterdam. The answer would be “no.”

The volume of bicycle riders in Amsterdam, the size of the bike lanes, the sound of the ringing bells to announce their presence, and their ability to ride rain or shine just brought a smile to your face.  🙂

Bik34Collage

About Judy @ NewEnglandGardenAndThread

Master Gardener who enjoys gardening, quilting, photography, and traveling.
This entry was posted in Europe, Photography, Traveling and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to Bicycles plural

  1. These are amazing…the ones that are tricked out to carry things !

    Like

  2. Love this focus on bicycles — lots of them! And I guess they’re not obese. I probably need to do more biking myself — just stay off the Interstate! Good post. Thanks.

    Like

  3. Dan Antion says:

    I love the bike-pickup at the top. That is so cool. I’d love to live in a place that was more bike friendly than Hartford (where the bike lane is also the bus lane, ‘cuz that makes sense). Great photos!

    Like

  4. Namz says:

    Oh yes, bikes and Amsterdam – a lovely combination. They are really possessive about the bike lanes. When I visited long ago, I was unaware and happened to be walking on the bike lane once. Did get some angry tinkles!!

    Like

  5. While stationed in Frankfurt, Germany in the 70’s, I rode a bike everywhere local. When on vacation in Switzerland, my wife and I rode bikes around the area. This included our young girls perched on their bike seats. Back in the US, we lost that habit. Maybe it was the warmer climate or addition of a second car. If I can only strengthen my knees, I would love to go biking again.

    Like

  6. Dawn says:

    Such wonderful memories of Amsterdam, Judy! It’s so good to see those huge parking lots filled with bicycles. I remember seeing people all dressed up riding their bicycles ~ businessmen in suits and women in fine clothes. Bicycles are a part of daily life in so many parts of Europe. ♡

    Like

  7. Joyce says:

    Loved seeing this! What a healthy way to get around – and I imagine the interpersonal nature of traveling is far more courteous than hiding inside an anonymous SUV, honking your brains out at anybody you decide isn’t moving fast enough! Love the little dog safely tucked inside his bike carrier!

    Like

  8. pbmgarden says:

    Fascinating to see the variety of bicycles. I’m used to seeing cyclists around this university town, but nothing like Amsterdam.

    Like

  9. That’s so cool! I imagine there are far fewer road rage incidents when everyone’s on bikes. How can you be angry when pedaling about? Love the photos. Thank you for sharing!

    Like

  10. Eliza Waters says:

    The Netherlands are way out in front when it comes to green living. I envy their flat land, however. Where you and I live is nothing but hills!

    Like

  11. sweetk8 says:

    Glad you brought up the use of alternative transportation Judy. As you know, I live in Finland now but I’ve also lived in China and Italy. In all the places I’ve lived, except the US bicycles and walking are the more common form of transportaion. There are hills, rain days, windy days, and cold days and people are outside going to and fro. Americans won’t usually walk further than the end of their driveway and most haven’t ridden a bike since they were a child. It’s sad and unfortunate. As for people who would discount what I’m saying with excuses such as age, health, terrain as a reason to rely on the car… it’s just that…an axcuse. Get on your feet and start walking! Age is just a number, health benefits of walking or riding a bicycle are exponential, being outdoors and getting exercise and fresh air any time of year is vastly better than remaining cooped up inside or always relying on A/C.
    I would urge everyone to get a bike and also to start walking!

    Liked by 1 person

    • It is sad but true. I bought a Fitbit last summer to count steps and make me aware of activity. So, when I park at a store in my gas guzzler, I look for the parking spot that is farthest away. And, then I watch the people circling the lot to find the closest one. 🙂 My bike is hanging on a wall in the barn. I’m going to get it down, pump up the tires, and get rolling. I can’t ride to town to do errands but I can walk over to a subdivision and ride for a couple of miles. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  12. Nancy says:

    Smart people … I would say!! Neat pictures but my favorite is the parking lot showing all of them. It shows exactly what you are speaking of!

    Like

  13. Oh this brings me back to the Netherlands when the boys were small…the youngest in a little seat on the steering wheel, the oldest in his seat on the back, two groceries bags on each side and a special devise to hold a little stroller that I could collapse like un umbrella…it was was called the umbrella stroller. We lived in a big city and with my bicycle , I was everywhere easy and swift. And I still have my little dog basket for on my bicycle…I hope for a little dog to end on my doorstep;0) Thanks Judy, I thoroughly enjoyed this!!!

    Like

  14. Love your story! Here we just keep buying bigger cars and you fit all that on a bicycle – applause to you and your ingenuity. 🙂

    Like

  15. Grandma Kc says:

    How very cool! That first bike looks like it would be really difficult to steer! I bet they are not only thinner than the average American I bet they are a lot healthier overall. GREAT PICTURES!

    Like

  16. Robin says:

    Like Sweetk8 stated I have not ridden a bike since I was a child. It amazes me how similar some counties are and yet so very different.

    Like

  17. Sounds like a truly civilized country!

    Like

Leave a Reply

