Thursday Doors – Smoking Good

SmokeCollageWe took an overnight trip north to the White Mountains this week, and we never go to that part of the state without stopping at the Brick Store in Bath, New Hampshire.

Don’t blink when going through Bath because you’ll miss it. Bath was incorporated in 1761 and was named for a well-known English statesman and orator, William Pulteney, first Earl of Bath.

It covers only 38 squares miles, and the population is around 1,000. During tourist season, the population dramatically increases when visitors flock to Bath to visit the Brick Store, which is the oldest continuously operated country store in the United States, and the 1832 covered bridge next door.

We love the covered bridge and the old store, but the real reason for our stop is to pick up some meat that has been expertly smoked behind this little blackened door.

Have you ever had smoked pepperoni? Yum. I love this little door. 🙂

Linked to Norm Frampton’s Thursday Doors.

About Judy @ NewEnglandGardenAndThread

Master Gardener who enjoys gardening, quilting, photography, and traveling.
This entry was posted in New England, Photography, Thursday Doors and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to Thursday Doors – Smoking Good

  1. Joyce says:

    What a variety of doors you’ve collected! From elegant entries on European streets to this simple, rustic welcome into delicious flavors! I think I have to envy the New England finds you make in clams, lobsters and now smoked pepperoni!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Dan Antion says:

    I think there’s a new entry in the road-trip wish list. Great post!

    Like

  3. Norm 2.0 says:

    We been to the White Mountains numerous times, how come I’ve never heard of this place? Well it’s on the list now 🙂
    Gotta love that old wooden door!

    Like

  4. Love the Hawg sign.

    janet

    Liked by 1 person

  5. joyroses13 says:

    Looks like a fun place to visit! And YUM, I am hungry 🙂

    Like

  6. Bec says:

    That door is lovely 🙂 I’ve eaten smoked pepperoni in Italy – nice

    Like

  7. You had me at smoked meat!
    Wonderful door 😉

    Like

  8. Oh, that sounds fabulous! And I notice their sign says “smoked cheese” as well…yum!

    Like

  9. I can almost smell that smoke escaping right above the door. Yum!

    Like

  10. Yum! You’ve got me craving smoked pepperoni… for breakfast! 😀

    Like

  11. Been to the area a bunch of times. Wish I’d known about that store! Going to Jackman later in the month. Maybe I can find some undiscovered gems to visit up there.

    Like

  12. I like the door. I am in need of smoked cheese, right about …NOW! 😛

    Like

  13. What a great place!!! Jumjum, anything smoked works up my appetite! Thanks, Johanna

    Like

  14. Grandma Kc says:

    You do find some of the coolest doors! I would love some of your smoked pepperoni and maybe some smoked cheese to go with it! Yum!

    Like

  15. Not pepperoni, but we have smoked salmon and mackerael. Great photos! Thanks for the travel tip…… Just added Bath, NH to my list. 😀

    Like

  16. Smoked sausage? Yum. Smoked cheese? Not sure, but sounds intriguing.

    Like

  17. I don’t know how I could have missed that one! Being married to an old Dartmouth grad means we’ve spent many a vacation in those mountains and touring around!!! Bath – I won’t forget it!

    Liked by 1 person

  18. Denzil says:

    Amazing how it hasn’t burned down in all this time!

    Like

Leave a Reply

